CSLI

Annual Report 2012

LAZARUS UNION

(Union Corps Saint Lazarus International)

CSLI

Register no.: 023914681

Senator h.c. Wolfgang Steinhardt

President and Union Commander in Chief

 

Vienna, December 2012

 

Dear Comrades!

Dear Friends, Patrons, and Sponsors!

 

2012 went by quickly indeed, and once more it was a most eventful year!

I would like to take the forthcoming Christmas time and the turn of the year as an occasion to personally and most cordially thank all those who participated in making the year 2012 the most successful year of the Lazarus Union since it was founded.

Not only has the number of members and friends risen to more than 14,000 but finally we have received all the international acknowledgement and appreciation we have been working for so hard.

Sine the begin of 2012 we are a counterpart of the United Grand Priories, independent and autonomous, but nevertheless embedded in the world-spanning organisation of the Military and Hospitaller Order of Saint Lazarus of Jerusalem and as such a (substantial) part of this organisation. According to the statutes the acting Supreme Grand Prior of the order is automatically the Grand Protector of the Lazarus Union and its “elite force,“ the “Lazarus Union Knighthood of Honour.“

Although the Lazarus Union by its basic structure is an umbrella organisation overseeing more than 60 national organisations, prefectures, delegations, and member associations, we can look back to a series of own events in 2012.

I want to list only a few of those here (representative of more than 80 participations in various events):

– the 6th CSLI Handicapped Air Day

– 1st CSLI Handicapped Sailing Cruise

– the 1st concert of the Big Band of the Lazarus Union

– the 3rd and 4th investiture of the Lazarus Union Knighthood of Honour

– a visit to the 1st Lazarus Symposium in Malta with more than 800 participants

– delegations and members of the board visiting Canada, England, Malta, Germany, Italy, and Croatia.

Most notable is the fact that all these trips have only been funded privately by the participants themselves, with absolutely no money coming from the Lazarus Union. Also there are no remunerations of board members or other members. With only a bare 2% of administrative costs (more than 98% go directly into our projects) we top all organisations with comparable size and number of members.

I do not want to left unmentioned our new web page which has been installed with great commitment as a communication platform. It is accepted very well as indicated by the more than 50,000 hits per month. For all those with no internet access we have founded the “Lazarus Magazine“ as a periodical currently with two issues per year in German and English.

To all members, friends, and sponsors once more a cordial “Thank You“ for making this possible. Everybody can do something. Let us create perspectives together!

All these permanent efforts and the visible success connected to it have silenced most of our critics (which we naturally do have and we very well have to live with that fact) and we can also consider this a joint success.

But we will not let our efforts wane and proffer our hands to all who want to join us on our way for a distance in accordance with the spirit of St Lazarus. So for 2013 we have planned already the 7th CSLI Handicapped Air Day, one or two concerts of our Big Band of the Lazarus Union, two ceremonial investitures, and several visits (Brazil, Scotland, Spain, Malta, Italy, Germany etc.). We hope to continue with our successful way. For  June 2014 we have already started planning our big “International Friendship Festival of the Lazarus Union“ inVienna.

With this in mind I wish you all a blessed Christmas and a Happy and Successful New Year 2013.

Your

Wolfgang Steinhardt

President and Union Commander in Chief

 

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Jahresbericht 2012

 

LAZARUS UNION

(Union Corps Saint Lazarus International)

CSLI

ZVR-Zahl: 023914681

Senator h.c. Wolfgang Steinhardt
Präsident und Unionskommandant

Wien, im Dezember 2012

Liebe Kameradinnen!
Liebe Kameraden!
Liebe Freunde, Gönner und Unterstützer!

Schnell ist es vergangen, das Jahr 2012 und es war wieder sehr ereignisreich!

Das bevorstehende Weihnachtsfest und den Jahreswechsel möchte ich als Anlass nehmen, mich wieder ganz persönlich und sehr herzlich bei all jenen zu bedanken, die dazu beigetragen haben das Jahr 2012 zum erfolgreichsten Jahr seit dem Bestehen der Lazarus Union zu machen.

Nicht nur, dass unsere Mitglieder- und Freundeszahl jetzt weit über 14.000 liegt, ist es uns auch gelungen, jene internationale Würdigung zu erhalten, die wir uns redlich erarbeitet  haben.

So sind wir seit Beginn 2012 eine Schwesterorganisation der Vereinigten Großpriorate, zwar unabhängig und selbstständig, aber dennoch eingebettet in die ebenfalls weltweite Organisation des Hospitalischen Ordens des Hl. Lazarus von Jerusalem und somit ein (wesentlicher) Teil desselben. Statutengemäß ist der jeweilige „Supreme Gand Prior“ des Ordens, automatisch der Großprotektor der Lazarus Union und deren „Eliteeinheit“, der „Ehrenritterschaft der Lazarus Union“.

Obwohl die Lazarus Union vom Aufbau her eine „Dachorganisation“ von über 60 Landesorganisationen, Präfekturen, Delegationen oder Mitgliedsverbänden ist, kann die Lazarus Union auf eine ganze Reihe eigener Veranstaltungen und Events im Jahre 2012 zurückblicken.

Ich möchte hier (stellvertretend für ca. 80 Teilnahmen an diversen Veranstaltungen) nur einige davon aufzählen:

– der 6. CSLI Behindertenflugtag
– der 1. CSLI Segeltörn mit Behinderten
– das 1. Konzert der Big Band der Lazarus Union
– die 3. und 4. Investitur der Ehrenritterschaft der Lazarus Union
– der Besuch des 1. Lazarus Symposium in Malta mit über 800 Teilnehmern
– Besuche von Delegationen und Vorstandsmitgliedern in Kanada, England, Malta, Deutschland, Italien und Kroatien.

Bemerkenswert zu all diesen Aktivitäten ist die Tatsache, dass ALLE Reisen AUSSCHLIESSLICH aus privaten Mitteln durch die Teilnehmer selbst finanziert wurden und dass KEINE Mitteln der Lazarus Union dafür verwendet wurden. Es gibt auch keinerlei „Spesenvergütungen“ für Funktionäre und Mitglieder. Mit nur knapp 2% an administrativen Kosten (mehr als 98% fließen in unsere Projekte) sind wir einsame Spitze bei Organisationen ähnlicher Größenordnung und ähnlicher Mitgliederzahl.

Nicht unerwähnt möchte ich auch unsere neue Homepage lassen, die wir mit sehr viel Engagement als unsere Kommunikationsplattform erstellt haben und die mit über 50.000 Zugriffen pro Monat auch sehr gut angenommen wurde. Für alle die kein Internet haben, haben wir das „Lazarus Magazin“ als periodische Zeitschrift, mit derzeit zwei Ausgaben pro Jahr in Deutsch und Englisch, ins Leben gerufen.

Allen Mitgliedern, Freunden und Unterstützern der Lazarus Union die all das ermöglicht haben, hier ein nochmaliges ganz herzliches Dankeschön! Jeder kann etwas tun. Schaffen wir gemeinsame Perspektiven!

Diese permanenten Anstrengungen und die damit verbundenen sichtbaren Erfolge, haben auch unsere Kritiker (die gibt es natürlich und damit muss auch die Lazarus Union leben) weitgehend zum Schweigen gebracht und das können wir ebenfalls als unseren gemeinsamen Erfolg ansehen.

Wir werden aber in unseren Anstrengungen nicht nachlassen und reichen allen die Hände, mit uns ein Stück des Weges im Sinne des Hl. Lazarus zu gehen. So haben wir für das Jahr 2013 wieder den 7. CSLI Behindertenflugtag, ein bis zwei Konzerte unserer Big Band der Lazarus Union, zwei feierliche Investituren und einige Auslandsbesuche (Brasilien, Schottland, Spanien, Malta, Italien und Deutschland etc.) geplant und hoffen auch weiterhin unseren Erfolgskurs fortsetzen zu können. Für den Juni 2014 planen wir schon heute wieder unser großes „Internationales Freundschaftsfest  der Lazarus Union“ in Wien.

In diesem Sinne wünsche ich Euch allen ein gesegnetes Weihnachtsfest und in glückliches und erfolgreiches Jahr 2013.

Euer

Wolfgang Steinhardt
Präsident und Unionskommandant

image_print
Untitled Document