CSLI

Minnesang und Panzerklang

 

MINNESANG und PANZERKLANG

(“Medieval Courtly Songs and Tank Sounds”)

A book reading on 23 October 2012 in

The Museum of Military History HGM Vienna

 

 

 

 

 

At the invitation of the Museum of Military History, our Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Lazarus Union, Colonel (Retd.) Adolf H. Neidhart, gave a reading from his recently-published book

 

Neidhart, 45 years a professional soldier in the Tank Corps, took some time to find a publisher for his book “MINNESANG und PANZERKLANG” (Medieval Courtly Songs and Tank Sounds). Written to celebrate the 50th anniversary of his year’s passing out at the Military Academy Wiener Neustadt in l961, it is a collection of anecdotes about his varied experiences during military service.

His stories prompted many smiles from the numerous visitors, including Ex-Defense Minister Dr.Krünes and Lieutenant-General Christian Segur-Cabanac.

He described his first meeting with our President, Senator Steinhardt, and their first joint helicopter flight over the military training area in Stockerau – supervision from the air. Comically, at his wedding reception many of the guests quickly left – the invasion ofCzechoslovakiaby Warsaw Pact troops meant officers had to return to their barracks.

Here are a few delightful excerpts (in German):

complement the anecdotes there are some fascinating pictures and caricatures.

Colonel Neidhart’s final words were a commitment to the Austrian Army: “I was always glad to be a professional soldier”, he said. He also emphasized the importance of being responsible as an officer for the men entrusted to him – to treat them with respect and take good care of them, “Over the years we had the opportunity to convince 100,000 youngsters to become better men.”

 

NOTE:

Colonel Neidhart has reserved some copies of his book for the Lazarus Union. For a donation of EUR 10.- (plus EUR 5.- postage withinAustriaor EUR 10.- withinEurope) a copy can be sent to you (with a personal dedication, if desired).

 

 

 

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Minnesang und Panzerklang

MINNESANG und PANZERKLANG

Buchlesung am 23. Oktober 2012 im

Heeresgeschichtlichen Museum HGM Wien

 

 

 

Auf Einladung des Heeresgeschichtlichen Museums hielt unser Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrates  der Lazarus Union, Herr Oberst i.R. Adolf H. Neidhart,  eine Lesung.

 

Lange hat es gedauert einen Verlag für sein Buch „Minnesang und Panzerklang“ zu finden. Es handelt sich dabei um eine Anekdotensammlung über seine vielfältigen Erlebnisse während seiner Militärdienstzeit. Oberst Neidhart war 45 Jahre Berufssoldat der Panzertruppe. Anlass des Buches war das 50. Jubiläum der Ausmusterung seines Jahrganges an der Militärakademie Wr. Neustadt im Jahre l961.

Mit seinen Beispielen brachte er die zahlreichen Besucher – u. A.. Exverteidugungsminister Dr.Krünes und GenLt Mag. Christian Segur-Cabanac – zum schmunzeln.

Erwähnt wird auch die erste Begegnung mit unserem Präsidenten Senator Steinhardt und der erste gemeinsame Hubschrauberflug über das militärische Übungsgebiet in Stockerau – Dienstaufsicht aus der Luft. Skurril auch seine Hochzeitsfeier: Sehr bald kamen ihm viele Gäste abhanden. Aufgrund des Einmarsches der Truppen des Warschauer Paktes in die CSSR mussten die Offiziere in ihre Kasernen einrücken.

Hier ein paar köstliche Leseproben:

Ergänzt werden die Anekdoten durch einige köstliche Karikaturen und Fotos.
Seine Schlussworte waren ein Bekenntnis zum Österreichischen Bundesheer: „Gerne war ich Berufssoldat.“ Er betonte auch die Wichtigkeit, als Offizier für seine ihm anvertrauten Männer verantwortlich zu sein – ihnen mit Respekt zu begegnen und für sie bestens zu sorgen: „In all den Jahren hätten wir 100 000 Jungmänner besser überzeugen können.“

 

ANMERKUNG:

Herr Oberst Neidhart hat der Lazarus Union einige Exemplare überlassen, die gegen  eine Spende von EUR 10.- (plus EUR 5,- Porto innerhalb Österreichs und EUR 10,- innerhalb Europa) zugeschickt werden. (Wenn gewünscht auch mit persönlicher Widmung)

image_print
Untitled Document