CSLI

9. CSLI Flughelferseminar

9th CSLI Flight Assistants Seminar

24. August 2013

Instructor Senator h.c. Wolfgang Steinhardt

 

 

A personal report on the Flight Assistants course run by the Air Wing of LAZARUS UNION – CSLI (Union Corps Saint Lazarus International) – in collaboration with Aerial Helicopter and the Aerial Lazarus Air Corps on 24.08.2013 by Manuel Gabler, Master of Engineering

 

On Saturday 24.08.2013 the CSLI Flight Assistants training course was held on the Stockerau airfield in cloudy weather with a light drizzle. It was my first meeting with members of the Lazarus Union and I was therefore curious about what awaited me on the day.

When I arrived, my first impression was of the typical image of a group of people who meet for a training day. A motley conglomeration of people had gathered in the most important room – the canteen. During my first coffee (although you should not actually use the term ‘coffee’ for the brown liquid in these machines) it was quickly apparent that some of the attendees had known each other for some time and others were first timers at the Lazarus Union. Although not personally known to me until then, I could see the head of the Flight Assistants training course (Wolfgang Steinhardt) due to the insignia on his jacket even before he greeted me.

When I arrived, my first impression was of the typical image of a group of people who meet for a training day. A motley conglomeration of people had gathered in the most important room – the canteen. During my first coffee (although you should not actually use the term ‘coffee’ for the brown liquid in these machines) it was quickly apparent that some of the attendees had known each other for some time and others were first timers at the Lazarus Union. Although not personally known to me until then, I could see the head of the Flight Assistants training course (Wolfgang Steinhardt) due to the insignia on his jacket even before he greeted me.

When all 14 participants were present, it was off to the training room for the first time where Wolfgang welcomed us officially and opened the course. He described what successful completion of the course would mean, which we then all personally imagined. It was very interesting to see how the course was composed of different occupational groups. Virtually everything was represented, from an office administrator and a technical draftsman to a theologian in training as well as a retired sea captain.

After drawing lots to divide into teams and a minute of silence for the recently deceased Vice President of the Union Lazarus Colonel (Retd.) Reinhard Wassertheurer, Wolfgang began with the presentation of the first topics:

– Responsibilities of a Flight Assistant

– Conduct At Airports

– Special Features of CSLI Flight Days

Mainly through numerous personal anecdotes he made the first theoretical part of the training very interesting and informative. Then we went straight to the practical application of what we had heard. In our previously allocated teams we began a first passenger briefing dry run. Here, the team leader briefed the others. The team that was being briefed had been told to make it hard for the briefer and this led to bizarre and sometimes quite funny situations. After these first dry runs we finally went out onto the airfield to practise the entry and exit of passengers on a helicopter.

The light drizzle meant that from now on we could no longer be said to be doing ‘dry runs’! As mentioned at the briefing, one team simulated the passengers while another team was re-briefed and took over handling the entry and exit. The helicopter in which the procedure was practised was an Agusta Bell 206-B Jet Ranger, which will also be used at the Disabled Flight Day. It was primarily about everyone on the team being able to internalise their assigned work to ensure a comfortable, and above all safe, entry and exit of passengers.

The whole thing was practised once with running rotors and once without. As a small compensation for their efforts, each team was also able to enjoy a short scenic helicopter flight.

After lunch we went back into the classroom where Wolfgang inaugurated us in the fundamentals of aviation law and stressed again the important points about conduct at airports. Although everyone was well satisfied from lunch, we kept our eyes open even in aviation law. Kudos to Wolfgang who made this theory exciting and so prevented the possibility of any interruptions by the sound of snoring.

As a final practical part we practised entry and exit on an aeroplane. Here a Cessna C-172 was used in the training. As with the helicopter, we worked in our teams, each accompanying the other team to the aeroplane. Due to the narrowness of the aircraft, the loading and unloading of handicapped people is a particular challenge. Above all, the trailing edge of the wing should be avoided because passengers boarding and alighting can easily injure their heads on it. But in the end there’s nothing that cannot be controlled with some well-intentioned pushing and pulling.

Finally, we again returned to the classroom to complete the Flight Assistant written exam. Thanks to Wolfgang’s excellent preparation, all participants passed.

I would like to sincerely thank Wolfgang for holding the course, the people of Aerial Helicopter for the flying and providing the training equipment, and all my fellow participants for this informative and enjoyable day. Looking forward meeting again on Disability Flight Day!

Manual Gabler, Master of Engineering

 

Picture impressions:

 

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

9. CSLI Flughelferseminar

9. CSLI Flughelferseminar

am 24. Aug. 2013

Leitung Senator h.c. Wolfgang Steinhardt

 

 

Persönlicher Bericht zum Flughelferlehrgang des Air Wing der LAZARUS UNION – CSLI (Union Corps Saint Lazarus International) –  in Zusammenarbeit mit Aerial Helicopter und dem Aerial Lazarus Air Corps am 24.08.2013 von Ing.Mag.Manuel Gabler

 

Am Samstag dem 24.08.2013 fand der Flughelferlehrgang des CSLI bei bewölkten und leicht nieseligen Wetter am Stockerauer Flugplatz statt. Für mich war es das erste Treffen mit Mitgliedern der Lazarus Union und war daher gespannt was mich an diesem Tage erwarten wird.

Bei meiner Ankunft bot sich auf den ersten Blick das typische Bild einer Gruppe von Leuten die sich zu einem Ausbildungstag treffen. Ein Sammelsurium aus bunt zusammengewürfelten Leuten die im wichtigsten Raum jeder Ausbildung zusammentrafen – der Kantine. Beim ersten Kaffee (obwohl man die Bezeichnung bei dieser braunen Automatenflüssigkeit eigentlich nicht verwenden sollte) und Vorstellen war schnell offensichtlich, dass sich einige schon länger kannten und andere zum ersten Mal bei der Lazarus Union sind. Obwohl mir bis dahin noch nicht persönlich bekannt, war der Leiter des Flughelferlehrgangs (Wolfgang Steinhardt) rein optisch aufgrund seiner Abzeichen am Jackett schon zu erkennen bevor er mich begrüßte.

Nach dem alle 14 Teilnehmer anwesend waren ging es erstmals in den Schulungsraum. Dort begrüßte uns Wolfgang offiziell und eröffnete den Lehrgang damit, dass er uns den geplanten Lehrgangsablauf erläuterte und wir uns alle persönlich vorstellten. Es war sehr interessant festzustellen aus welchen unterschiedlichen Berufsgruppen sich der Lehrgang zusammensetzte.  Von einer Bürokauffrau, technischen Zeichner, bis zum Theologen in Ausbildung sowie pensionierten Schiffskapitän war quasi alles vertreten.

Nach der Teameinteilung durch Losentscheid und einer Gedenkminute für den kürzlich verschiedenen Vizepräsidenten der Lazarus Union Oberst i.R. Reinhard Wassertheurer, begann Wolfgang mit dem Vortrag der ersten Themenschwerpunkte:

–          Aufgabenbereich der Flughelfer

–          Verhalten auf Flughäfen

–          Besonderheiten bei CSLI Flugtagen

Vor  allem durch zahlreiche persönliche Anekdoten gestaltete er diesen ersten theoretischen Teil sehr interessant und informativ. Anschließend ging es gleich an die praktische Anwendung des gehörten. In den zuvor zusammengelosten Teams starteten wir ein erstes Passagier-Briefing Trockentraining. Hierbei briefte der Anführer eines Teams ein anderes. Da das Team welches gebrieft wurde die Anordnung hatte es dem Briefer möglichst schwer zu machen, führte das teilweise zu skurrilen und durchaus lustigen Situationen. Nach dem ersten Trockentraining ging es schließlich raus aufs Flugfeld um das Zu- und Aussteigen von Passagieren an einem Hubschrauber zu üben.

Von Trockentraining kann nun aufgrund des leichten Nieselregens nicht mehr gesprochen werden. Wie zuvor beim Briefing simulierte ein Team die Passagiere während ein anderes Team das erneute Briefing, sowie das begleitende Zu- und Aussteigen übernahm. Der Hubschrauber an dem das Prozedere geübt wurde war ein Agusta Bell B-206 Jet Ranger welcher auch am Behinderten Flugtag zum Einsatz kommen wird. Hierbei ging es in erster Linie darum, dass jeder im Team seine zugeteilte Arbeit verinnerlichen konnte um ein komfortables und vor allem sicheres Zu- und Aussteigen der Passagiere zu gewährleisten.

Das Ganze wurde einmal ohne und einmal mit laufenden Rotoren geübt. Als kleine Entschädigung für die Mühen kam zusätzlich jedes Team in den Genuss eines kurzen Rundflugs mit dem Hubschrauber.

Nach der Mittagspause ging es erneut in den Lehrsaal, wo uns Wolfgang in die Grundzüge des Luftfahrtrechts einweihte und erneut wichtige Punkte zum Verhalten auf Flugplätzen näher brachte. Obwohl jeder vom Mittagessen gut gesättigt war, konnten selbst beim Luftfahrtrecht alle die Augen offen halten. Großes Lob an Wolfgang der auch diesen Theorieteil spannend gestaltete und somit etwaige Unterbrechungen durch Schnarch Geräusche vereitelte.

Als letzten praktischen Teil übten wir das Zu- und Aussteigen am Flugzeug. Hierbei diente eine Cessna C-172 als Übungsobjekt. Wie beim Hubschrauber arbeiteten wir wieder in unseren Teams und begleiteten ein anderes Team zum Flugzeug. Durch die Enge des Flugzeuges ist vor allem das Ein- und Ausladen von gehbehinderten Personen eine besondere Herausforderung. Vor allem auch deshalb, weil vermieden werden muss, dass sich Passagiere beim Ein- und Aussteigen den Kopf an der Flügelhinterkante verletzten. Aber schlussendlich gab es nichts, dass sich nicht mit etwas gut gemeinten Ziehen und Drücken regeln lässt.

Abschließend ging es nochmals zurück in den Lehrsaal um die schriftliche Prüfung zum Flughelfer zu absolvieren. Dank der ausgezeichneten Vorbereitung durch Wolfgang haben alle Teilnehmer bestanden. Ich möchte mich herzlich bei Wolfgang für die Abhaltung des Lehrgangs, den Leuten von Aerial Helicopter fürs Fliegen und Bereitstellen der Übungsgeräte, sowie allen Teilnehmern für diesen lehrreichen und auch gemütlichen Tag bedanken. Freue mich schon aufs Wiedersehen am Behindertenflugtag!!

Ing.Mag.Manuel Gabler

 

Bildimpressionen:

 

 

image_print
Untitled Document