CSLI

CSLI GB&I besucht die “Scherbe”

CSLI Visit to the Shard

On Wednesday 23rd October, CSLI members teamed-up with members of the Order of St Stanislas and St Pancras Rotary Club, for a pre-arranged visit to the Shard inLondon, the tallest building in western Europe.

The visit, arranged by GB&I Adjutant Steven Turner, afforded those attending with incredible 360 degree views for 40 miles. The Shard has 72 floors, rising to 310 metres or 1016 feet. The building incorporates world renowned restaurants as well as a 5 star hotel and extensive office space.

After the visit, the party made their way to The George Inn in Borough High Street, a coaching inn dating back to the 1400s. It was rebuilt in 1676 after a serious fire destroyed most of medieval Southwark.

A most convivial lunch was enjoyed by all. On behalf of those attending, the C-in-C warmly thanked the Adjutant for organising a thoroughly enjoyable outing.

Picture impressions

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

CSLI GB&I besucht die “Scherbe”

CSLI besucht die „Scherbe“ (Shard)

Am Mittwoch, den 23. Oktober trafen sich englische CSLI Mitglieder mit den Mitgliedern des Ordens von St. Stanislaus und dem St .Pancras Rotary Club, für einen Vor-Besuch des Shard in London, dem höchsten Gebäude in Westeuropa.

Der Besuch von CSLI GB & I Adjutant Steven Turner ermöglicht und bot den Teilnehmern über 70 Kilometer weit einen unglaublichen 360° Rundblick.. Die „Scherbe“ hat 72 Etagen und eine Höhe von 310. Das Gebäude verfügt über weltweit renommierte Restaurants sowie ein 5-Sterne-Hotel und umfangreiche Büroflächen.

Nach dem Besuch, machte die Teilnehmer auf den Weg Richtung The George Inn in der Borough High Street, einer ehemaligen Poststation aus dem Jahr 1400. Es wurde im Jahre 1676 wieder aufgebaut, nachdem ein schwerer Brand die meisten Häuser mittelalterlichen Southwark zerstörte.

Ein sehr geselliges Mittagessen wurde von allen zum Ausklang genossen. Im Namen der Teilnehmer, dankte der Kommandant des CSLI GB&I Ian W. Tough, seinem Adjutanten für die Organisation und den rundum gelungenen Ausflug.

Bildimpressionen

 

image_print
Untitled Document