CSLI

Mike Boxall – Freeman of the City of London

Freedom of the City of London

 

 

 

At 11.30 on the 17th of June 2013, a City ofLondon Beadlein top hat and frockcoat escorted CSLI Major Mike Boxall and his guests into the Chamberlain’s Court at Guildhall for the ancient ceremony granting the Freedom of the City ofLondon.

First recorded in 1237, ‘the Freedom’ traditionally recognised that a person was free of feudal service and recorded their right to trade in the square mile of the City ofLondon. Today these trade rights no longer apply, but the Freedom of the City remains a unique part ofLondon’s history to which many people who have lived or worked in the City have been proud to be admitted.

Kindly nominated by Freemen of the City and senior CSLI GB&I officers Ian Tough and Simon McIlwaine, proud Londoner Mike had come to swear the ‘Declaration of a Freeman’ before the silk-gowned Clerk of the Chamberlain’s Court. After signing the Freeman’s Declaration Book, he was presented with a hand-inscribed parchment Copy of the Freedom. The Clerk then extended the right hand of fellowship to welcome this newest ‘Citizen of London’.

Like the CSLI, the Freedom does not discriminate on grounds of religion, social status, ethnicity, sex or age and all fees go to charitable causes. Mike was therefore doubly proud, as a Londoner and as a CSLI member, to receive this formal recognition of his personal connection with the City ofLondonand its traditions. 

 

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Mike Boxall – Freeman of the City of London

Freedom of the City of London

 

 

 

Am 17. Juni 2013 um 11:30 eskortierte ein Beadle der City of London (in etwa vergleichbar mit einem Gemeindediener) in Frack und Zylinder Major CSLI Mike Boxall und seine Gäste in den Chamberlain’s Court in Guildhall für die altehrwürdige Zeremonie der Verleihung der Freedom of the City of London*.

Erstmals erwähnt 1237 ist ‘the Freedom’ eine traditionelle Anerkennung, dass eine Person von Feudalleistungen freigestellt war und das Recht besaß, innerhalb der City of London Handel zu betreiben. Diese Handelsrechte sind heute nicht mehr Teil der der Auszeichnung ,aber die Freedom of the City bleibt ein einzigartiges Überbleibsel der Geschichte von London und viele Menschen, die in der City gelebt oder gearbeitet haben, waren stolz darauf, ein Teil davon zu sein.

Die Freemen of the City und CSLI GB&I Stabsoffiziere Ian Tough und Simon McIlwaine besaßen die Freundlichkeit, ihn zu nominieren und der stolze Londoner Mike kam, um den Eid auf die ‘Declaration of a Freeman’ vor dem in Seide gekleideten Sekretär des Chamberlain’s Court abzulegen. Nach der Unterzeichnung des Freeman’s Declaration Book wurde ihm in einem handgeschriebenen Pergament eine Urkunde des Freedom übergeben. Dann reichte ihm der Sekretär die rechte Hand, um den neuen ‘Citizen of London’ willkommen zu heißen.

Genauso wie das CSLI diskriminiert der Freedom weder auf Grund von Religion noch sozialem Status, Ethnie, Geschlecht oder Alter und alle Gebühren werden für Zwecke der Wohlfahrt verwendet. Daher war Mike doppelt stolz auf diese formale Anerkennung seiner persönlichen Verbindung mit der City of London und ihrer Tradition, als Londoner und als CSLI-Mitglied.

* siehe auch http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freedom_of_the_City

 

image_print
Untitled Document