CSLI

Gedenktag 70 Jahre Schlacht um Stalingrad

A Memorial Mass in the Collegiate Church

of the Holy Cross, Vienna and

a Commemorative Concert

in the Russian Cultural Institute

for the 70th Anniversary

of the Battle of Stalingrad

 

 

 

 

A report by Erich Kadlec (Translated by Mjr CSLI Mike Boxall)

 

The memorial medal

History of the Tragedy:

On the 2nd February 1943 the remnants of the German 6th Army surrendered to Soviet troops atStalingrad. This Red Army victory over the Germans is regarded as one of the turning points in World War II.

The months-long battle, in temperatures down to minus 43 degrees, cost the lives of least 150,000 Germans, tens of thousands of their Allies and 500,000 Russians.

Four of the Divisions of the German Army that fought at Stalingrad contained a high proportion of Austrians: the 44th Infantry Division, the 297th Infantry Division, the 100th Jäger Division and the 24th Panzer Division. The soldiers were mostly from Vienna, Burgenland and Styria.

Of the approximately 91,000 German soldiers who fell into Soviet captivity, only 6,000 returned home.

An image of the Virgin Mary, ’TheStalingradMadonna’, was drawn by the senior German physician Dr Kurt Reuber during the battle to inspire his patients. It is featured on the 70th anniversary commemorative plaque.

 

To mark the 70th Anniversary of the end of the battle a memorial service was held in the Collegiate Church of the Holy Cross,Vienna.

A strong delegation from the 44th ID “Hoch-und Deutschmeister” Comrades Association was present to commemorate fallen Members and their German comrades. In memory of their fallen comrades they began by marching in their traditional Banners to join those of the Kameradschaftsbund (Association of Comrades) and the ÖBH.

The service was celebrated by the Military Dean, Peter Papst M.A.. Also present was the bishop of the Russian Orthodox Church, the Orthodox Military Chaplain, Father Lapin, and representatives of the Diplomatic Corps. There was also a strong turnout from several traditional clubs and a small number of former soldiers and participants in the battle.

The Lazarus Union was represented by President Steinhardt and comrades Kadlec, Ptak, Hochmuth and Gruber.

In his sermon The Military Dean recalled the events of that time: During the course of the fighting about 1 million people (civilians and soldiers) were killed. The majority did not die in combat action but froze to death, starved or fell victim to disease.

Also recalled was the Austrian memorial in Pestschanka and the inscription on its bronze plaque, which reads:

“This memorial is dedicated to all the victims of the Battle of Stalingrad 1942/43, it reminds us of the suffering of the soldiers who died here and of the civilian population. For those from all countries who died here or in captivity we ask their eternal peace in Russian soil. “

A prayer in the Orthodox Rite ended the religious part of the service.

After a short speech wreaths were laid. The ceremony was completed with the playing of The Deutschmeister March.

It should be added that, by resolution of the City Council, on the 70th anniversary Day of Remembrance for the defeat of Hitler’s 6th Army, Volgograd will again bear the name Stalingrad. This new rule will also apply on 9th May (Victory Day) and on four other commemorations during the year.

 

Celebratory Concert and evening exhibition on the 70th Anniversary of the Battle of Stalingrad

Two days later, on 4th February 2013, the Russian Cultural Institute also held a memorial service in memory of all the fallen at the battle ofStalingrad.

The program included an impressive documentary photo exhibition from the collection of theCentralMuseumof the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945. The pictures, some on show for the first time, clearly depicted the misery of war.

The exhibition was opened by Counsellor Tatiana Mishukovskaya. Her speech revealed the extent to which the events of that time are rooted in Russian collective memory.

This was followed by an impressive concert: “Songs of the War Years”, with Dmitri Kostov (bass), a member of the Vienna Folk Opera, and Irina Dankewitsch (piano). The songs were performed in German and Russian.

Only a few remaining veterans of the Battle of Stalingrad could attend the event.

On behalf of the “Hoch-und Deutschmeister”, Section Chief ret. Dr. Otto Gratschmayer gave thanks for the successful event.

Representing the CSLI were President Steinhardt and comrades Kadlec, Ptak and Hochmuth. Our comrade Hannes took the excellent photos, ​​as usual. Many thanks to him for that!

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Gedenktag 70 Jahre Schlacht um Stalingrad

 

Gedenkmesse in der Stiftskirche Wien

70 Jahre Schlacht um Stalingrad und

Gedenkkonzert im Russischen Kulturinstitut

 

 

 

 

Ein Bericht von Erich Kadlec

 

Gedenkplakette

Historie der Tragödie:

In den monatelangen Kämpfen waren mehr als 700.000 Soldaten ums Leben gekommen. Der Sieg der Roten Armee über die Deutschen gilt als einer der Wendepunkte im Zweiten Weltkrieg. Die Reste der deutschen 6. Armee hatten am 2. Februar 1943 in Stalingrad vor den sowjetischen Truppen kapituliert.

Der Sieg der Roten Armee gilt als ein Wendepunkt im Zweiten Weltkrieg. Die monatelange Schlacht und Temperaturen bis zu minus 43 Grad kosteten mindestens 150.000 Deutschen, Zehntausenden Verbündeten und 500.000 Russen das Leben.

Die vier Divisionen der Deutschen Wehrmacht die in Stalingrad kämpften hatten einen hohen Anteil an Österreichern: die 44. Infanteriedivision, die 297. Infanteriedivision, die 100. Jägerdivision und die 24. Panzerdivision. Die Soldaten stammten vor allem aus Wien, dem Burgenland und aus der Steiermark.

Von den etwa 91 000 deutschen Soldaten, die in sowjetische Gefangenschaft gerieten, kehrten nur 6 000 in die Heimat zurück.

Er erwähnte auch das Bild der Muttergottes von Stalingrad, das Oberarzt Dr Kurt Reuber auf der Rückseite einer russischen Landkarte zeichnete. Die „Madonna von Stalingrad“.

 

Anlässlich des 70. Jahrestages des Endes der Schlacht um Stalingrad fand ein Gedenkgottesdienst in der Stiftskirche statt. Veranstaltet wurde diese Gedenkfeier von der “Kameradschaft Hoch- und Deutschmeister” und die Lazarus Union war dazu eingeladen.

Die „Hoch-  und Deutschmeister“ gedachten ihrer gefallenen und verstorbenen Divisions- und Deutschmeisterkameraden. Im Gedenken an die gefallenen Kameraden waren eine starke Abordnung der Kameradschaft der 44. ID Hoch- und Deutschmeister mit ihren Traditionsfahnen angetreten, Kameradschaftsbund und ÖBH standen Spalier.

Zelebriert wurde der Festgottesdienst von Militärdekan Mag. Peter Papst. Anwesend war auch der Bischof der russisch orthodoxen Kirche, sowie der orthodoxe Militärseelsorger Vater Lapin, sowie Vertreter des diplomatischen Korps und starker Beteiligung der div. Traditionsvereine und (nur mehr einige wenige) ehemalige Soldaten und Teilnehmer an dieser Schlacht.

Die Lazarus Union repräsentierte Präsident Steinhardt und die Kameraden Kadlec, Ptak, Hochmuth und Gruber.

In seiner Predigt erinnerte Militärdekan an die damaligen Ereignisse: Im Verlaufe der Kampfhandlungen kamen ca. 1 Million Menschen (Zivilisten und Soldaten) ums Leben. Der Großteil starb nicht durch Kampfhandlungen, sondern erfror, verhungerte oder fiel Krankheiten zum Opfer.

Erinnert sei auch an das österreichische Denkmal in Pestschanka.
Die Inschrift auf der Bronzetafel lautet:

“Dieses Denkmal ist allen Opfern der Schlacht um Stalingrad 1942/43 gewidmet, es erinnert an die Leiden der hier gefallenen Soldaten und an die der Zivilbevölkerung. Für die hier Gefallenen und in Gefangenschaft Verstorbenen aus allen Ländern erbitten wir den ewigen Frieden in russischer Erde.“

Eine Andacht im russisch-orthodoxen Ritus beendete den religiösen Teil der Veranstaltung.

Nach einer kurzen Ansprache erfolgte die Kranzniederlegung. Beendet wurde der Festakt mit dem Deutschmeistermarsch.

Erwähnt sei noch, dass Wolgograd zum 70. Jahrestages der Zerschlagung von Hitlers 6. Armee, auf Beschluss des Stadtrates, an diesem Gedenktag wieder den Namen Stalingrad führt. Die Regelung gilt auch am 9. Mai (Tag des Sieges) und an weiteren vier Gedenktagen im Jahr.

 

Feierlicher Konzert- und Ausstellungsabend zum 70. Jahrestag der Schlacht von Stalingrad

Im Russischen Kulturinstitut fand ebenfalls zwei Tage später, am 4.Feb.2013,  eine Gedenkveranstaltung zur Erinnerung an alle Gefallenen in der Schlacht um Stalingrad statt.

Auf dem Programm stand eine beeindruckende fotodokumentarische Ausstellung aus der Sammlung des Zentralmuseums des Großen Vaterländischen Krieges 1941 – 1945. In den Bildern wurde das Elend des Krieges deutlich sichtbar und wurden zum Teil sogar erstmals gezeigt.

Eröffnet wurde die Ausstellung von Botschaftsrätin Tatiana Mishukovskaya. Aus ihrer Rede ging auch hervor, wie stark die damaligen Ereignisse im kollektiven Gedächtnis Russlands verwurzelt sind.

Anschließend folgte ein beeindruckendes Konzert „Lieder der Kriegsjahre“ mit Dimitrij Kostov (Bass), einem Mitglied der Wiener Volksoper, am Klavier Irina Dankewitsch. Dargeboten wurden Lieder in deutscher und russischer Sprache.

Von den ehemaligen Veteranen der Schlacht um Stalingrad konnten nur mehr ganz wenige an der Veranstaltung teilnehmen.

Für die “Deutschmeister“ bedankte sich Sektionschef i.R. Dr. Otto Gratschmayer für die gelungene Veranstaltung.

Für das CSLI hielten Präsident Steinhardt, die Kameraden Kadlec, Ptak und Hochmuth die Stellung. Unser Kamerad Hannes sorgte wie immer für exzellente Fotos. Vielen Dank dafür!

image_print
Untitled Document