CSLI

36th Austrian Brass Music Festival Vienna

36.Basmusikfest Wien Titlel roh ENG

CLICK HERE 100 VIDEO

 

36.

Austrian Brass Music Festival 

in Vienna

– the Lazarus Union and its marching formation were there.

 

Chev. Prof. Hans König 100A report by Prof. Hans König

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

This does have a long history. For 36 years allready the City of Vienna invites various brass bands from all over Austria and South Tyrol to parade together along the Ringstraße in Vienna and then play some jaunty marches for the citizens in front of the Vienna City Hall.

 

Blasmusik Konzert 026

For all the participants it is also very important to see and hear also other bands and to compare the various performances to also improve one‘s own play by adopting from others.

Blasmusik Konzert 032

So, after some earlier experiments, the bands parade over the Ringstraße since 1979 already. This festival was brought into being by the unforgettable vice mayor Gertrude Fröhlich Sandner, together with a couple of representatives from the Austrian Brass Music Association.

Blasmusik Konzert 040

Even after 36 years the author of these lines is proud to have guided the first brass bands through Vienna by then and to have invited them after their applauded performances for dinner in the name of the City of Vienna.

20150606_101412

The brass music festival consists of four parts. Already two evenings earlier the “City Music Vienna“ – a combination of four different Viennese brass bands – play a mixture of marches, operetta music and specific pieces in the arcaded court of the city hall.

20150604_201315

The next evening one band from an Austrian province is invited to present itself and its repertoire. This year the oldest city brass band – the Wilten Town Band – founded at the begin of the 17th century – presented the perfected art of pipes and drums.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Besides the overly large audience the high level of the presented pieces thrilled the arcaded court until even the grotesque figures bowed their heads in reverence. Of course also prominent Lazarus Union representatives participated in this feast for the ears.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The next day an early rise was required as the Lazarus Union Music Corps‘ marching formation played in Vienna‘s Floridsdorf district in front of the regional express train Station.

Blasmusik Konzert 011

Much applauded and richly deserved our music representative and band master Friedrich directed his formation. All dressed up poshly, including a bunch of lovely sutlers, with a top-class program consisting of various marches including the Lazarus Union march to the inevitable “Radetzky March“ for the finish.

Blasmusik Konzert 007

This is how traditional Austrian brass music must be! Nothing else.

Blasmusik Konzert 045

The final summit: Saturday, June 6th, 2015, afternoon – 15.00 hours. 34 degrees in the shade. Calm wind. 1,800 musicians marching along the Ringstraße. All in full dress, heavy cloth, thick hats or uniform caps. One can only give kudos. The Lazarus Union group, president Wolfgang Steinhardt, vice president Christoph Ptak, secretary general Oliver Gruber Lavin, treasurer Monika Gries, chapter members Hans-Rudolf Gries and the writer of these lines prepare for sauna in uniform.

Blasmusik Konzert 015

But the sensational show makes all this quickly forgotten. The marching block from the Austrian counties unfortunately mix up the various bands, each of which would have its own special character, its own charm, its own sound ….especially our Lazarus Band experts. Their specific Lentner swing does not sound out.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

So all together form a mush of melodies. Of course the show from the town band Radstadt and the band of the Army Guard Vienna fascinate the guests.

Blasmusik Konzert 070

Blasmusik Konzert 108

It reminds one strongly of “trooping the colour“. After the parade there is a concert in front of the town hall by all bands playing together. The band master, Col. retd. Prof. Mag. Hans Schadenbauer has a hard job directing 1,200 musicians but he succeeds. The Radetzky March unites all musicians and thousands of visitors all clapping along the beats to a community.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Viva la Banda! Soaked with sweat, yet incredibly happy. This is my personal summary. What more could one want. Over the year a real brass music aficionado does have only a few such moments of happiness. Until the next time which could mean in several years. Just imagine: in Austria there are more that 100,000 brass musicians playing in approximately 3,000 bands. Yet only between 20 and 25 get invited to this event – a great honour indeed.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Kudos to our musicians and their band master for their performance and their commitment!

Prof. Hans König

A Video will come soon!

 

Life cut samples from Lazarus Union Open Air Concert:

Lazarus Union March

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Rosamunde

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Radetzky March

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

36. Östereichische Blasmusikfest Wien

 

36.Basmusikfest Wien Titlel DEU

CLICK HERE 100 VIDEO

 

36.

Österreichisches

Blasmusikfest in Wien

– die Lazarus Union und ihre Marschformation war dabei.

 

Chev. Prof. Hans König 100Ein Bericht von Prof. Hans König
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Es hat schon eine lange Geschichte. Seit 36 Jahren lädt die Bundeshauptstadt Wien eine Vielzahl von österreichischen Blasmusikkapellen aus allen Bundesländern und aus Südtirol ein, gemeinsam auf der Wiener Ringstraße zu defilieren und danach am Wiener Rathausplatz zusammen einige flotte Märsche den WienerInnen zu Gehör zu bringen.

 

Blasmusik Konzert 026

Es ist aber auch sehr wichtig für alle Teilnehmer, einmal andere Kapellen und ihre Darbietungen zu erleben, zu vergleichen und sich so manches Detail qualitätssteigernd „abzuschauen“.

Blasmusik Konzert 032

Seit 1979 marschieren nun unsere Musikkapellen über den Ring und schon einige Jahre vorher wurden die ersten Schritte unternommen, um unter der unvergesslichen Vizebürgermeisterin Gertrude Fröhlich Sandner mit einigen wenigen Vertretern des Österreichischen Blasmusikverbandes diese Veranstaltung zu probieren.

Blasmusik Konzert 040

Der Verfasser dieser Zeilen ist auch nach 36 Jahren stolz, die ersten Blaskapellen durch Wien geschleust und sie nach beklatschtem Konzert an prominenten Wiener Plätzen, namens der Stadt Wien, zum Essen eingeladen zu haben.

20150606_101412

Das Blasmusikfest besteht aus vier Teilen. Schon zwei Abende vorher spielt die „Stadtmusik Wien“ – ein Zusammenschluss aus verschiedenen Wiener Blaskapellen – im Arkadenhof des Wiener Rathauses einen Mix aus Märschen, Operetten und „Charakterstücken“.

20150604_201315

Am darauffolgenden Abend wird eine Bundesländerkapelle eingeladen, sich und ihr Repertoire zu präsentieren. Dieses Jahr war es die älteste, in Österreich existierende Blasmusik – die Stadtmusikkapelle Wilten – immerhin wurde sie schon zum Beginn des 17. Jahrhunderts gegründet – die die Hohe Schule der ehemaligen Pfeiffer und Trommler ritt.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Abgesehen von der übergroßen Anzahl der Teilnehmer, das hohe Niveau der dargebotenen Gustostückerln bis hin zum „Amerikaner in Paris“, ließ den Arkadenhof erbeben, bis sicherlich auch der Rathausmann sein behelmtes Haupt vor diesem exzellenten Können neigte. Natürlich nahmen auch prominente Vertreter der Lazarus Union an diesem Ohrenschmaus teil.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Tags darauf hieß es schon zeitig aufstehen, denn die Marschformation des Musikkorps der Lazarus Union konzertierte in Floridsdorf vor dem Schnellbahnbahnhof am Franz Jonas Platz.

Blasmusik Konzert 011

Viel beklatscht und hochverdient dirigierte unser Musikbeauftragter und Kapellmeister Friedrich unsere Formation. Alle superfesch herausgeputzt, samt einer lieblichen Schar von Marketenderinnen ein Programm der Extraklasse, von selten gehörten Schmankerln über beliebte Märsche, wie der Neapelmarsch, bis hin zum Marsch der Lazarus Union und dem unvermeidlichen „Radetzky Marsch“ zum Abschluß.

Blasmusik Konzert 007

So soll traditionelle österreichische Blasmusik sein! Und nicht anders.

Blasmusik Konzert 045

Dann aber der Höhepunkt: Samstag, 6.6.2015 nachmittags – 15.00 Uhr. 34 Grad im Schatten. Windstille 1.800 Musikanten marschieren über die Ringstraße. Hochgeschlossen, zum Teil in Filz und schwerem Tuch, dicken Alpinhüten, oder schweren Uniformkappen und züchtigen Dirndln. Man kann nur sagen: Applaus. Wir von der Lazarus Union, Präsident Wolfgang Steinhardt, Vizepräsident Christoph Ptak, Generalsekretär Oliver Gruber Lavin, unsere Schatzmeisterin Monika Gries, Kapitelmitglied Hans-Rudolf Gries und auch der Autor machen sich auf eine Uniformsauna gefasst.

Blasmusik Konzert 015

Aber die sensationellen Darbietungen lassen Alles vergessen. Die Marschblöcke der Bundesländer vermischen zwar die verschiedenen Kapellen und das ist schade. Denn jede Einzelne hätte ihren Charakter, ihren eigenen Charme, ihr eigenes Klangbild. ….besonders unsere Spezialisten der Lazarus Band. Ihr eigener Lentner- Sound ist nicht heraushörbar.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

So treten alle gemeinsam zusammen als Melodienbrei an. Natürlich schießen die Showeinlagen der Radstädter Stadtkapelle – übrigens ein Augenschmaus – und natürlich der Gardemusik Wien – den Vogel ab.

Blasmusik Konzert 070

Blasmusik Konzert 108

Das rührt schon stark an „trooping the colour“. Dann nach dem Defileé, das gemeinsame Konzertieren vor dem Wiener Rathaus. Es ist für Bundesehrenkapellmeister Oberst i.R. Prof.Mag. Hans Schadenbauer nicht leicht, 1200 Musiker zugleich und Sekundenbruchteile genau, zum Klingen zu bringen, aber es gelingt. Bis auf ein, zwei verzeihliche Gickser – wieder einmal ist es geschafft. Der Radetzky Marsch vereint die Blasmusiker und das taktmäßig klatschende Publikum zu einer tausendköpfigen Gemeinschaft.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Viva la Banda! Verschwitzt und glücklich, gschrian und sölig. Das ist mein persönliches Resumee. Was will man noch mehr. Solche Glücksmomente gibt es nicht viele im Laufe eines Jahres eines Blasmusikaficionados. Bis zum nächsten Mal – und das könnte Jahre dauern, bis unsere Marschformation wieder vom Blasmusikverband zum Mitmachen nominiert werden wird. Nur zur Vorstellung: Es gibt mehr als 100.000 aktive Blasmusiker in Österreich, die in ca. 3000 Blasmusikkapellen spielen. Und zum Österreichischen Blasmusikfest können maximal 20 bis 25 eingeladen werden. Hier daher mitmachen zu dürfen ist eine große Ehre.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Lob und Dank an unsere Musiker und ihren Dirigenten für ihre Leistungen und ihren Einsatz!

 

Prof. Hans König

 

Hörproben (live-Mitschnitt) vom Platzkonzert der Lazarus Union

Lazarus Union Marsch

Musikvideo: Adobe Flash Player (Version 9 oder höher) wird benötigt um dieses Musikvideo abzuspielen. Die aktuellste Version steht hier zum herunterladen bereit. Außerdem muss JavaScript in Ihrem Browser aktiviert sein.


Rosamunde

Musikvideo: Adobe Flash Player (Version 9 oder höher) wird benötigt um dieses Musikvideo abzuspielen. Die aktuellste Version steht hier zum herunterladen bereit. Außerdem muss JavaScript in Ihrem Browser aktiviert sein.


Radetzky Marsch

Musikvideo: Adobe Flash Player (Version 9 oder höher) wird benötigt um dieses Musikvideo abzuspielen. Die aktuellste Version steht hier zum herunterladen bereit. Außerdem muss JavaScript in Ihrem Browser aktiviert sein.

 

 

image_print
Untitled Document