CSLI

Officer Ball 2015

Ball der Offiziere 2015 620 ENG

 

Officers’ Ball 2015

at the Vienna Hofburg

 

The Officers’ Ball these days is a glamorous social occasion, which exerts an unbroken fascination not only on our own civilian and military guests, but also on international visitors. This year the Ball celebrated our Federal Army’s 60th anniversary.

 

Alfons Haider opened proceedings with a humorous introduction, then the Minister of Defence and Sport, Mag. Gerald Klug, spoke. Also present were, of course, Austria’s highest ranking military led by Chief of Staff Othmar Commenda.

 

Opening

As is traditional, the opening committee provided the first highlight of the evening with a display by the Hanselmayer School of Dance. As is also traditional, this was then opened up to international Officer Cadets.

 

Theme and Highlights

The theme for the Officers’ Ball in 2015 was ‘Sounds of Jubilee’ in celebration of the 60th anniversary. Therefore, the ball committee had decided to take this anniversary as an opportunity to combine the past with the present musically. The midnight show was especially dedicated to this anniversary so we experienced a musical journey through time, performed by various guest stars.

 

One of the highlights of the evening included a presentation to the winner of the ninth Dancing Stars Season, Army Athlete Vadim Garbuzov, who attended with his dance partner, and also Army Athlete, Kathrin Menzinger. As with all the other professional dancers, he was available as a dance partner for all.

 

At midnight many of the guests danced ‘die Fledermausquadrille’ (the bat quadrille) under the direction of Rudolf Peschke, Director of the Hanselmayer School of Dance. At 02:30 followed the ‘Late Night Show’.

 

A total of 35 nations celebrated at the Ball, with 23 salons of the Vienna Hofburg echoing to the sound of dance music and waltzes. Germany was very well represented with about 300 officers, as was the United States with 200 officers in particularly striking uniforms. All around there were some beautiful dress uniforms to see.

 

Our delegation of The Lazarus Union was represented by our President, Senator hc Wolfgang Steinhardt and his wife Vera, Commander Ludwig Brunner and his wife Brigitte, Colonel and Grand Chancellor Helmut Neidhardt, General Auditor Josef Maria Gebel, as well as yours truly and my wife Monika. Two tables were reserved for us in the In Metternich Hall.

 

You had to pity our smokers, they got lost several times in the vast corridors of the Hofburg. A security officer rescued them from the Ambassador Stairs on the 5th floor and returned them to the 1st floor. After three attempts, they finally found the entrance to the smoking salon in the old Royal Kitchen.

 

The photographs of groups and couples taken on the magnificent staircase were a personal highlight for me. No matter what the event, beautiful photos must be taken!

 

As a conclusion to the Officers’ Ball, visitors are offered a typical treat each year – the Last Post. Sounded at 04:00, this famous trumpet melody signalled the end of proceedings with every visitor then presented with a gift on leaving.

 

It was a beautiful evening and a successful Ball. Though I didn’t get much chance to ‘swing my leg’ on the dance floor, I did have lots of time to chat with our international guests.

 

Report and photos
Hans Rudolf Gries and Josef-Maria Gebel

 

Ball impressions:

Ball der Offiziere 2015 01 Ball der Offiziere 2015 02 Ball der Offiziere 2015 03 Ball der Offiziere 2015 04 Ball der Offiziere 2015 05 Ball der Offiziere 2015 06 Ball der Offiziere 2015 07 Ball der Offiziere 2015 08 Ball der Offiziere 2015 09 Ball der Offiziere 2015 10 Ball der Offiziere 2015 11 Ball der Offiziere 2015 12 Ball der Offiziere 2015 13 Ball der Offiziere 2015 14 Ball der Offiziere 2015 15 Ball der Offiziere 2015 16 Ball der Offiziere 2015 17 Ball der Offiziere 2015 18 Ball der Offiziere 2015 19 Ball der Offiziere 2015 20 Ball der Offiziere 2015 21 Ball der Offiziere 2015 22 Ball der Offiziere 2015 23 Ball der Offiziere 2015 24 Ball der Offiziere 2015 25 Ball der Offiziere 2015 26 Ball der Offiziere 2015 27

 

 

 

 

 

 

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Offiziersball 2015

Ball der Offiziere 2015 620 DEU

 

Ball der Offiziere 2015

in der Wiener Hofburg

 

Der „Ball der Offiziere“ ist jedes Mal ein glanzvolles, gesellschaftliches Ereignis und übt eine ungebrochene Faszination auf zivile und militärische Besucherinnen und Besucher ebenso aus wie auf heimische und internationale Gäste. Feierte doch unser Bundesheer sein 60-jähriges Bestehen.

Alfons Haider führte humorvoll durch die Eröffnung und das Programm. Ansprache durch Verteidigungs- und Sportminister Mag. Gerald Klug, selbstverständlich waren auch Österreichs ranghöchste Militärs, allen voran Generalstabschef General Mag.Othmar Commenda, zugegen.

Eröffnung  

Traditionell stellt das Eröffnungskomitee, geleitet von der Tanzschule Elmayer, den ersten Höhepunkt des Ballabends dar. Wie es die Tradition so will, eröffnen internationale Offiziersanwärter ebenfalls mit.

Motto und Highlights   

Das Motto des Balls der Offiziere 2015 lautet “Jubiläumsklänge”. Das Bundesheer feiert nämlich sein 60-jähriges Bestehen. Daher hat das Ballkomitee entschieden, dieses Jubiläum als Anlass zu nehmen, musikalisch Vergangenes mit der Gegenwart zu verbinden. Vor allem die Mitternachtsshow stand ganz im Zeichen dieses Jubiläums. Wir haben eine musikalische Zeitreise, dargeboten von verschiedenen Stargästen erlebt.

Zu einem Highlight des Abends zählte der Auftritt vom Gewinner der neunten Dancing-Stars-Staffel und Heeressportler Vadim Garbuzov. Gemeinsam mit seiner Tanzpartnerin und ebenfalls Heeressportlerin Kathrin Menzinger und weiteren Profitänzern  stand er wieder als Tänzer für alle zur Verfügung.

Um Mitternacht tanzten zahlreiche Ballbesucher die Fledermausquadrille unter der Leitung vom Direktor der Tanzschule Elmayer, Rudolf Peschke. Um 02:30 Uhr folgte die “Late Night Show”.

Insgesamt 35 Nationen feierten in 23 Sälen der Wiener Hofburg bei Tanzmusik und Walzerklängen mit. Sehr stark vertreten ca. 300 Offiziere aus Deutschland und 200 Offiziere mit besonders wunderschönen Uniformen aus den Vereinigten Staaten. Allgemein gab es sehr schöne Gala-Uniformen zu bewundern.

Auch unsere Abordnung der Lazarus Union war vertreten mit Herrn Präsident Senator h.c. Wolfgang Steinhardt mit Gattin Vera, Commander Ludwig Brunner mit Gattin Brigitte, Oberst und Großkanzler Helmut Neidhardt, Generalauditor Josef Maria Gebel, sowie meiner Wenigkeit und Gattin Monika. Im Metternichsaal waren 2 Tische für uns reserviert.

Mitleid konnte man mit unseren Rauchern haben, verirrten sie sich doch mehrmals in den weitläufigen Gängen der Hofburg, angefangen von der Botschafterstiege über den 5.Stock, retour im Erdgeschoss rettete sie ein Sicherheitsdienst Mitarbeiter. Nach den 3 Anläufen fanden sie endlich den Zugang Rauchersaloon in der alten Hofküche.

Als persönliches Highlight erfolgten Fotoaufnahmen auf der Feststiege in Gruppe und Paaren, denn egal wie die Veranstaltung, schöne Fotos müssen her.

Als Abschluss wird den Ballbesuchern jedes Jahr ein dem Ball der Offiziere typisches Schmankerl geboten – der Zapfenstreich. Um 04:00 klingt der Ball mit der berühmten Trompetenmelodie aus und jedem Besucher wurde beim Ausgang noch ein Präsent überreicht.

Es war ein wunderschöner gelungener Ballabend, aber viel zu wenig wurde das Tanzbein geschwungen, dafür umso mehr mit internationalen Gästen geplaudert.

 

Bericht und Fotos
Hans Rudolf Gries und Josef-Maria Gebel

 

 
Ballimpressionen:

Ball der Offiziere 2015 01 Ball der Offiziere 2015 02 Ball der Offiziere 2015 03 Ball der Offiziere 2015 04 Ball der Offiziere 2015 05 Ball der Offiziere 2015 06 Ball der Offiziere 2015 07 Ball der Offiziere 2015 08 Ball der Offiziere 2015 09 Ball der Offiziere 2015 10 Ball der Offiziere 2015 11 Ball der Offiziere 2015 12 Ball der Offiziere 2015 13 Ball der Offiziere 2015 14 Ball der Offiziere 2015 15 Ball der Offiziere 2015 16 Ball der Offiziere 2015 17 Ball der Offiziere 2015 18 Ball der Offiziere 2015 19 Ball der Offiziere 2015 20 Ball der Offiziere 2015 21 Ball der Offiziere 2015 22 Ball der Offiziere 2015 23 Ball der Offiziere 2015 24 Ball der Offiziere 2015 25 Ball der Offiziere 2015 26 Ball der Offiziere 2015 27

 

image_print
Untitled Document