CSLI

UN Conference on assistance to the Palestinian People

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Oliver Gruber-Lavin obst csliA report by Oliver Gruber-Lavin, Secretary General CSLI

 

Lazarus Union delegates with the United Nations in Vienna, President Wolfgang Steinhardt, Vice-President Christoph Ptak and the Secretary General Oliver M. Gruber-Lavin took part in a UN seminar to the situation in Gaza.

This 2-day UN seminar in Vienna tried to co-ordinate remedial actions, development and the reconstruction for the Gaza Strip on the part of governments, organisations like UN and donators.

“In the Gaza Strip in 2014 on account of the hostility more than 1,500 civilians were killed, more than 11,000 people suffered injuries and about 100,000 Palestinians lost their flats ”, one says in the annual report of the UN office for the coordination of the humanitarian assistance (OCHA). The majority of the population in the Gaza Strip has no access to clean water, 31,000 lodgings have been destroyed, nearly 30,000 workplaces have got lost in the course of the conflict, said Mr. Frode of the UN-developing program UNDP.

An actual problem is the electricity supply and with it linked all other problems. The water supply and the sewage disposal, the hospitals and the small companies operations are concerned.

The 1.8 million residents of the Gaza Strip receive their water mainly from ground water occurrence on the coast. However, it is faster used up than it can be processed. In this manner sea water trickles in the occurrence. The salinity increases, the water becomes inedible.

The situation in Gaza remains “critically” and “unsolved”, according to Fode Seck, chairperson of the UN committee for the exercise of the rights of the Palestinian. “The two-state solution is more relevant than ever.” Without solution for the conflict the Middle East will not live in security and peace, according to Mohammed Shtayyeh, president of the Palestinian economic council PECDAR.

 

The official UN summary of this conference you can find HERE

 

Conference impressions:

2015-04-01-UNO@GAZA-002 2015-04-01-UNO@GAZA-006 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

UN Konferenz zur Unterstützung des Palestinensischen Volkes

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Oliver Gruber-Lavin obst csliEin Bericht von Oliver Gruber-Lavin, Generalsekretär CSLI

 

Delegierte der Lazarus Union bei den Vereinten Nationen in Wien, Unions-Präsident Wolfgang Steinhardt, der Vizepräsident Christoph Ptak und der Generalseketär Oliver M. Gruber-Lavin nahmen an einem UN Seminar zur Lage im Gaza Streifen teil.

Dieses zweitägige UNO-Seminar in Wien versuchte Hilfsmaßnahmen, Entwicklung und den Wiederaufbau für den Gaza-Streifen seitens Regierungen, Organisationen wie der UNO und Spendern zu koordinieren.

Im Gazastreifen wurden 2014 aufgrund der Feindseligkeiten mehr als 1.500 Zivilisten getötet, mehr als 11.000 Menschen erlitten Verletzungen und rund 100.000 Palästinenser verloren ihre Wohnungen”, heißt es im Jahresbericht des UN-Büros für die Koordinierung der humanitären Hilfe (OCHA). Die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung im Gaza-Streifen habe keinen Zugang zu sauberem Wasser, 31.000 Unterkünfte seien zerstört worden, fast 30.000 Arbeitsplätze seien im Zuge des Konflikts verloren gegangen, sagte Frode Mauring vom UNO-Entwicklungsprogramm UNDP.

Ein aktuelles Problem ist die Stromversorgung und damit verbunden alle weiteren Probleme. Betroffen sind die Wasserversorgung und die Abwasserentsorgung, die Krankenhäuser und die kleinen Betriebe.

Die 1,8 Millionen Einwohner des Gazastreifens erhalten ihr Wasser größtenteils aus Grundwasservorkommen an der Küste. Doch es wird schneller aufgebraucht, als es aufbereitet werden kann. Auf diese Weise sickert Meerwasser in die Vorkommen ein. Der Salzgehalt erhöht sich, das Wasser wird ungenießbar.

Die Situation in Gaza bleibe “kritisch” und “ungelöst”, so Fode Seck, Vorsitzender des UN-Komitees zur Ausübung der unveräußerlichen Rechte der Palästinenser. “Die Zwei-Staaten-Lösung ist relevanter denn je.” Ohne eine Lösung für den Konflikt werde der Nahe Osten nicht in Sicherheit und Frieden leben, so Mohammed Shtayyeh, Präsident des palästinensischen Wirtschaftsrats PECDAR.

Die offizielle UN Zusammenfassung finden Sie HIER

 

Bildimpressionen:

2015-04-01-UNO@GAZA-002 2015-04-01-UNO@GAZA-006 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

 

 

image_print
Untitled Document