CSLI

Investitur Order of Saint Joachim 2014 London

 

Banner OSJ

CSLI at the Order of St Joachim Investiture

London 13th September 2014

Mike BoxallReport by Mjr CSLI Mike Boxall

On Saturday 13th September 2014, The Equestrian, Secular and Chapterial Order of Saint Joachim, United Kingdom Commandery ‘Edward the Confessor’, held its annual Investiture Ceremony at St Anne’s Church, Limehouse. Five members of the Corps St Lazarus International were present at the ceremony.

Commander of The United Kingdom Commandery, and also Colonel (CSLI), Simon McIlwaine lead proceedings, ably supported by the Commander of the Canadian Commandery, David Douglas, a Major-General (CSLI). Andy Smith, the United Kingdom Commandery Deputy Commander and a Major (CSLI) and David Johnstone, a Knight in the Order and Colonel (CSLI) were also present and, attending as a guest of the Order, Mike Boxall, Major (CSLI).

Vice Admiral Lord Horatio Nelson is arguably the most celebrated and recognized member of The Order of Saint Joachim, having been conferred the rank and title of Knight Grand Commander of the Order in recognition of his victory over Napoleon’s troops at the Battle of the Nile. It’s little wonder that the UK Commandery maintains a strong maritime connection.

Proceedings at this Investiture began with the entry of an Honour Guard formed of Sea Cadets from the Newham Cornwell VC Sea Cadet Unit under the command of Sub Lieutenant Adam Mendrys. The Officers and Knights of the Order then processed through the guard to take their places in the Chapter Hall.

The Rev. Gordon Warren, Honorary Chaplain to the Royal Navy, welcomed us to St Anne’s with some fascinating facts about the church. Built between 1714 and1727, St Anne’s has the highest church clock in London. With its prominent position near the Thames, it became a Trinity House seamark on all navigation charts for this part of the river and is permitted to fly the White Ensign, the exclusive Ensign of the Royal Navy.

After the formal opening of the Investiture and blessings, the Commander of The United Kingdom Commandery admitted one Postulant (Knight Expectant) to the Order, raised four Knights Expectant to the rank of Knight, installed one Knight and raised one Knight to the rank of Knight Commander.

Investing a new Knight in the Order is a six-stage process. The new Knight takes an Oath to the Order, kneels for the sword strokes of knighthood, has his heels tapped symbolically with a spur, receives white gloves symbolic of a Knight’s clear conscience. Then the Commander raises the new Knight to his feet and presents him with the Order’s Neck Cross and Certificate.

After all the Knighthoods had been conferred, the Convocation concluded with a blessing and the Order’s traditional words of closing: “Love and Peace be with us!” All then processed out and gathered for group photos on the church steps.

A short walk through Limehouse brought us to The Narrow, a Gordon Ramsey restaurant with panoramic views of the river Thames. After Loyal and Order toasts, taken sitting down In Royal Naval tradition, the three-course meal and wines were greatly enjoyed.

Speeches and the presentation of a donation to the Newham Cornwell VC Sea Cadet Unit followed before we all again assembled for another short walk to the Museum of London Docklands.

After a brief stay that wetted the appetite to re-visit this fascinating museum we all boarded a Thames Clipper for the journey up-river to Tower Bridge. The high-speed catamaran made short work of the journey, bringing us to The Tower of London to view the major artistic installation entitled ‘Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red’. This has filled the Tower’s famous dry moat with over 800,000 ceramic poppies to create a powerful visual commemoration for the First World War Centenary.

A visit to St Katherine’s Dock, to board one of the Little Ships that went to the aid of the British Expeditionary Force during Operation Dynamo (the evacuation of Dunkirk) in 1940, brought to an end a special day of maritime-related events.

As a first-time attendee at an Equestrian, Secular and Chapterial Order of Saint Joachim annual Investiture, I found the Investiture and programme of events inspiring. With so many fellow-CSLI members also members in The Order of St Joachim, the warm welcome I received reflected the closeness of our two organisations.

Mike Boxall

Picture impressions

SAM_1793

SAM_1807

SAM_1821

SAM_1831

SAM_1818

 

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Investitur St.Joachim Orden 2014 London

Banner OSJ

CSLI-Teilnahme an der Investitur des

St Joachim Ordens

London 13. September 2014

 

Mike BoxallReport by Mjr CSLI Mike Boxall

4.Behinderten Flugtag in Stockerau von CSLIIns Deutsche übersetzt von DI Herbert Paulis

 

Am Samstag, den 13. September 2014, fand die jährliche Investitur des Equestrian, Secular and Chapterial Order of Saint Joachim, Komturei „Edward the Confessor“ des Vereinigten Königreiches, in der Kirche St Anne in Limehouse statt. Fünf Mitglieder des CSLI wohnten der Zeremonie bei.

Kommandant der Komturei des Vereinigten Königreiches und CSLI Oberst Simon McIlwaine leitete die Zeremonie, tatkräftig unterstützt durch den Kommandanten der kanadischen Komturei und CSLI Generalmajor David Douglas. Ebenfalls anwesend waren CSLI Major und stellvertretender Kommandant der Komturei des Vereinigten Königreiches Andy Smith und CSLI Oberst Chev. David Johnstone, Mitglied der Ehrenritterschaft sowie CSLI Major Mike Boxall als Gast des Ordens.

Viizeadmiral Lord Horatio Nelson ist wohl das am meisten gefeierte und bekannteste Mitglied des St. Joachim Ordens, da er in Anerkennung seines Sieges über die Truppen Napoleons bei der Schlacht am Nil in den Stand eines Großkommandeurs des Ordens erhoben wurde. Es ist daher kein Wunder, dass die Komturei des Vereinigten Königreiches einen starken Bezug zur Seefahrt hat.

Die Investitur wurde eröffnet mit dem Einzug einer Ehrenwache von Seekadetten der Newham Cornwell VC Seekadetteneinheit unter dem Kommando von Sub-Lieutenant Adam Mendrys. Im Anschluss daran defilierten die Offiziere und Ritter des Ordens an der Ehrenwache vorbei und nahmen ihre Plätze in der Kapitelhalle ein.

Rev. Gordon Warren, Ehrenkaplan der Royal Navy, hieß uns mit einigen spannenden Fakten über die Kirche St Anne willkommen. Zwischen 1714 und 1727 erbaut, besitzt St Anne die höchste Kirchenuhr in London. Wegen ihrer herausragenden Position in der Nähe der Themse wurde sie auf allen Navigationskarten dieses Teiles des Flusses als Orientierungspunkt der Leuchtfeuerverwaltung Trinity House eingezeichnet. Außerdem darf sie die „Weiße Flagge“ (d.h. die britische Seekriegsflagge, Anm. d. Ü.) führen, die exklusive Flagge der Royal Navy.

Nach dem formalen Beginn der Investitur und dem Segen nahm der Kommandant der Komturei des Vereinigten Königreiches einen Postulanten (Ritteranwärter) in den Orden auf, erhob vier Ritteranwärter zu Rittern, ernannte einen Ritter und beförderte einen Ritter zum Kommandeur.

Die Aufnahme eines neuen Ritters in den Orden ist ein sechsstufiger Prozess. Der neue Ritter legt einen Eid auf den Orden ab, kniet nieder, um die Schwertstreiche zu empfangen, die ihn in den Ritterstand erheben, danach werden seine Fersen symbolisch mit Sporen berührt und schließlich erhält er ein Paar weißer Handschuhe, die sein reines Gewissen symbolisieren. Danach erhebt ihn der Kommandeur auf seine Füße und überreicht ihm das Halskreuz des Ordens und sein Dekret.

Nachdem alle Ritterwürden verliehen worden sind, wurde die Versammlung mit einem Segen und den traditionellen Worten „Liebe und Fried sei mit uns!“ beendet. Nach dem Auszug versammelte man sich auf den Stiegen zur Kirche für Gruppenphotos.

Ein kurzer Fußmarsch durch Limehouse brachte uns zum The Narrow, ein Restaurant von Gordon Ramsey mit Panoramablick über die Themse. Nach Trinksprüchen auf die Krone und den Orden, in der Tradition der englischen Marine sitzend dargebracht, gab man sich mit Begeisterung dem dreigängigen Menü und den Weinen hin.

Nach weiteren Ansprachen und einer Spende an die Newham Cornwell VC Seekadetteneinheit machten sich alle auf, um nach einem kurzen Spaziergang das Museum der Londoner Docks zu erreichen.

Eine nur kurze Besichtigung machte großen Appetit darauf, dieses faszinierende Museum nochmals zu besuchen, danach gingen wir an Bord eines Thames Clippers, um flussaufwärts zur Tower Bridge zu fahren. Der Hochgeschwindigkeitskatamaran brachte uns in kürzester Zeit zum Tower of London, wo wir die Kunstausstellung „Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red“ besichtigten. Diese Installation füllt den berühmten trockenen Burggraben des Towers mit über 800.000 Mohnblumen aus Keramik, um sichtbar der Toten des Ersten Weltkrieges zu gedenken.

Ein Besuch des St Katherine’s Docks, wo wir an Bord eines der kleinen Schiffe gingen, die 1940 im Rahmen der Operation Dynamo (die Evakuierung Dünkirchens) das britische Expeditionskorps heimbrachten, beendete einen speziellen Tag voller Ereignisse mit Bezug zur Seefahrt.

Als jemand, der zum ersten Mal an einer der jährlichen Investituren des Equestrian, Secular and Chapterial Order of Saint Joachim teilnahm, fand ich sowohl die Investitur als auch das Rahmenprogramm begeisternd. Der herzliche Empfang, den ich durch die vielen CSLI-Mitglieder, die auch Mitglieder im St. Joachims Orden sind, erhalten habe, spiegelt die Nähe unserer zwei Organisationen wider.

Mike Boxall

 

Bildimpressionen

SAM_1793

SAM_1807

SAM_1821

SAM_1831

SAM_1818

image_print
Untitled Document