CSLI

General Assembly and Investiture St.Michael Order 2014

Titelbild 620 ENG

Hannes Hochmuth MK-EFMReport and pictures by Hannes Hochmuth – press photographer

Mike BoxallTranslated into English by Mjr CSLI Mike Boxall

On 27th September, the Order of Knights of St. Michael celebrated the Feast of St. Michael in the ancient fortified church of St. Michael at Weissenkirchen. (First mentioned in documents in the year 987, this was formerly an extensive parish and mother Church of the entire Wachau region.)

IMG_0920

IMG_1015

The Order of Knights of St. Michael is one of the long-time friends of the LAZARUS UNION and is always a welcome guest at our events. Therefore we happily accepted the invitation to their Convention and Patron-Saint Festival, and a 14-member delegation (10 Knights of Honour and four senior members of the Corps Saint Lazarus Austria (CSLA) with flag) represented the LAZARUS UNION at this beautiful celebration.

IMG_0949

IMG_0952

IMG_0953

Presently more friendly organisations and guests arrived: The Radetzky Order, the Knights of the Wine, the Knights of the Heart from Tyrol, the German Order of Knights of St. Michael and many other guests.

IMG_1022

The Mayor of St. Michael / Weissenkirchen, Dipl.-Ing. Anton Bodenstein, honoured the festival with his presence and made a very heartfelt keynote speech.

IMG_0955

IMG_1037

IMG_1023

At 14:00 the solemn procession into the church began. The Pastor of the Church, Reverend Peter Rückl M.A., celebrated solemn Mass with a wonderful musical accompaniment from the Cantemus Choir, under the direction of Choir Director Erich Klug. It was a real ‘auditory delight’!

IMG_0987

IMG_0998

After the Service, and the usual group photos (there were about 70 participants this year) a wine presentation at the Bayer Winery was announced. All the participants were able to enjoy delicious Grüner Veltliner and freshly baked bread. Thus strengthened, we proceeded to the castle ruins of Aggstein using the ferry at Weissenkirchen to cross the Danube to Aggstein.

IMG_1053

IMG_1056

IMG_1066

IMG_1079

After all the participants had arrived at the Aggstein ruins, the Convention (General Assembly) of the Order of Knights of St. Michael (correctly: ‘The High Laudable Order of the Freemen and Knights of Saint Michael’) was held. On the occasion of this Convention, Prof. Guido Mancusi M.A. was elected new Grand Master.

IMG_1103

IMG_1119

While the Order’s General Assembly was being held the guests enjoyed a champagne reception, including a stunning ‘apricot champagne’, and of course tours of the Castle and the Nibelungen Exhibition.

IMG_1111

IMG_1116

At 18:00 the ceremony started for all Order members and guests with a solemn entry of the Knights and the Chapter in the beautifully restored grand hall of Aggstein Castle.

IMG_1169

IMG_1166

The highlight was the new Grand Master swearing his oath and then being solemnly inaugurated in front of the entire congregation by the Grand Prior of the Order, Dr.hc. Gerhard Ficker.

IMG_1182

Various awards were made to deserving members and a new Knight was admitted to the Order.

IMG_1188

IMG_1185

IMG_1188

IMG_1195

IMG_1198

IMG_1206

The ceremonial Knighthood was granted by the new Grand Master with the traditional words: “… Receive as a sign of humility, this last blow and accept as a knight then no more…”

IMG_1215

The ‘best knightly saying’ was then announced: “The buffet is open.”

The ‘Aggstein Castle feast’ was fragrant and ready. Fried spare ribs, chips, sausages, baked chicken from the castle, dumplings, cooked cabbage and lettuce were offered and gallantly eaten. A sweet knight’s dish: ‘flaky dumplings with stewed fresh plums’, rounded off this superb meal.

IMG_1227

It was a very friendly and harmonious celebration for which we thank you very much in the Order of Knights of St. Michael and look forward to next year. As our President particularly pointed out in his message “… It’s nice to have friends who pursue common objectives and who do not indulge in petty and blinkered ‘competition’.

IMG_1152

At the height of the celebrations we had to depart, after all, we still had a long way to go, with the autumn mist (or was it something else) accompanying us on our journey back to Vienna.

 Hannes Hochmuth

 

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Konvent und Investitur St.Michael Orden 2014

Titelbild 620 DEU

Hannes Hochmuth MK-EFMBericht und Fotos von Hannes Hochmuth – Pressefotograf

Am 27.September 2014 feierte der Sankt Michael Ritterorden auch heuer sein Namenfest des Hl. Michael in der altehrwürdigen Wehrkirche St.Michael ob Weißenkirchen. (Erste urkundliche Erwähnung aus dem Jahre 987 und ehemals weitreichende Pfarre und Mutterkirche der gesamten Wachau.)

IMG_0920

IMG_1015

Der Sankt Michael Ritterorden zählt zu den langjährigen Freunden der LAZARUS UNION und ist immer ein gern gesehener Gast bei unseren Veranstaltungen. Gerne folgten wir daher der Einladung zum Konvent und Namenspatronsfest und waren mit einer 14-köpfigen Delegation (10 Ehrenritter und 4 hochrangige Mitglieder des Corps Saint Lazarus Austria (CSLA) mit Fahne) bei diesem schönen Fest vertreten.

IMG_0949

IMG_0952

IMG_0953

Als weitere befreundete Organisationen und Gäste kamen: Der Radetzky Orden, der Weinritter Orden, der Herzritterorden aus Tirol und der deutsche St. Michael Ritterorden sowie viele weiteren Gäste.

IMG_1022

Auch der Bürgermeister von St. Michael/Weißenkirchen, Dipl.-Ing. Anton Bodenstein, beehrte dieses Fest mit seiner Anwesenheit und einer sehr herzlichen Festansprache.

IMG_0955

IMG_1037

IMG_1023

Um 14:00 erfolgte der Feierliche Einzug in die Kirche wo der Pfarrer der Kirche, Hochwürden Mag. Peter Rückl, eine Festmesse zelebrierte und der „Cantemus Chor“, unter der Leitung von Chorleiter Erich Klug, die wunderbare musikalische Umrahmung bildeten. Es war ein echter „Hörgenuss“!

IMG_0987

IMG_0998

Nach der Messe und dem üblichen Gruppenfotos (es waren heuer über 70 Teilnehmer) war eine Weinpräsentation im Weingut Bayer angesagt. Köstlicher Grüner Veltliner und frisch gebackenes Brot erfreuten alle Gäste. Gestärkt ging’s zur Weiterfahrt zur Ruine Aggstein. Wir benutzten die Fähre bei Weißenkirchen um über die Donau nach Aggstein zu kommen.

IMG_1053

IMG_1056

IMG_1066

IMG_1079

Danach begaben sich alle Teilnehmer auf die Burgruine Aggstein, wo der Konvent (Generalversammlung) des Sankt Michael Ritterordens (korrekt: „Hochlöblicher Orden der freien Herren und Ritter vom Heiligen Michael“) abgehalten wurde. Anlässlich dieses Konvents wurde auch Prof. Mag. Guido Mancusi zum Neuen Großmeister gewählt.

IMG_1103

IMG_1119

Für die Gäste gab es in der Zwischenzeit einen Sektempfang, u.a. mit herrlichem „Marillen Sekt“ und natürlich auch Burgführungen bzw. die Besichtigung der Nibelungen-Ausstellung.

IMG_1111

IMG_1116

Um 18:00 begann für alle Ordensmitglieder und Gäste der Festakt mit einem feierlichen Einzug der Ritter und des Kapitels in den sehr schön restaurierten Rittersaal der Burg Aggstein.

IMG_1169

IMG_1166

Als Höhepunkt legte der neue Großmeister seinen Eid ab und wurde danach vom Großprior des Ordens, Dr.hc. Gerhard Ficker, vor der gesamten versammelten Gemeinde feierlich in sein Amt eingeführt.

IMG_1182

Es erfolgten div. Auszeichnungen an verdiente Mitglieder und die Aufnahme eines neuen Ritters.

IMG_1188

IMG_1185

IMG_1188

IMG_1195

IMG_1198

IMG_1206

Der vorgesehene zeremonielle Ritterschlag wurde vom neuen Großmeister erteilt. „…empfange als Zeichen der Demut diesen letzten Schlag und akzeptiere als Ritter danach keinen mehr…“.

IMG_1215

Der „beste Ritterspruch“ wurde aber jetzt verkündet: ,,Das Buffet ist eröffnet“

Das “Aggsteyner Burgherrengelage” stand schon duftend bereit. Es gab gebratene Ripperln, Schnitzeln, Bratwürste, gebackenes vom Burghendl, Knödeln, warmes Kraut und Salat wurden angeboten und  „ritterlich“ verspeist. Eine süße Ritterspeise, „Flockige frische Buchteln mit Zwetschkenröster“, rundete dieses Mahl ab.

IMG_1227

Es war ein sehr freundschaftliches und harmonisches Fest und wir bedanken uns beim Sankt Michael Ritterorden sehr herzlich dafür und freuen uns schon auf das nächste Jahr. „…es ist schön Freunde zu haben welche Ziele, ohne kleinliche „Wettbewerbsgedanken“ und engstirnige „Eifersucht“, gemeinsam verfolgen…“. Dies hob unser Präsident in seiner Grußbotschaft besonders hervor.

IMG_1152

Wenn es am schönsten ist, ist Aufbruch angesagt, schließlich hatten wir noch einen weiten Weg vor uns, wo uns der Herbstnebel (oder war es was anderes), nach Wien begleitete.

Hannes Hochmuth

 

image_print
Untitled Document