CSLI

Lazarus Day 2015

 

Titelcoverbild NEW mit HP revised

 

LAZARUS-DAY 2015

 

IN THE VIENNA INTERNATIONAL CENTRE

UNITED NATIONS

 

Donation and award for the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)

 

 

Oliver Gruber-Lavin obst csliA Report by Oliver Gruber-Lavin, Secretary General of the Lazarus Union

Hannes Hochmuth MK-EFMPictures by Hannes Hochmuth (Press Photographer) and Oliver Gruber-Lavin

 

The LAZARUS UNION celebrated the Lazarus day 2015in the Vienna International Centre, seat of the United Nations in Vienna. Next to New York (UNHQ), Geneva (UNOG) and Nairobi (UNON), Vienna International Centre with its United Nations Office at Vienna (UNOV) is one of four official seats of the United Nations. UNOV was put into operations as third location of the UN  1st January 1980.

Every July 29th, the LAZARUS UNION celebrates the ”International Lazarus Day“, as this day is the holiday of St. Lazarus according to Roman Catholic, Anglican, and Protestant rite and the Union has committed itself to his ideals.

In 2015 there are yet two more anniversaries to celebrate. Next to its 5th year in its current form there is also the first anniversary of the special consultative NGO status at the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). This in practice means that the LAZARUS UNION has new forms of participation on the international stage. Either official meetings of sub-organisations like the UN Human Rights Council or international conferences and events – the Union can not only participate but also actively take part in international debates or decision finding processes in the form of written or oral contributions. Having consultative status also allows for the possibility of having own events in UN buildings. Because of this the LAZARUS UNION decided to celebrate its commemorative day 2015 in the VIC.

To the interested guests and visitors from the LAZARUS UNION as well as to the UN employees of the various organisations with a seat in Vienna a vivid programme mixture of information and entertainment was presented. Central issue of the event was the presentation of a donation and an award to the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR).

001

The celebration was commenced by the LAZARUS UNION Music Corps with the Lazarus March. After some more music LAZARUS UNION Secretary General Oliver M. Gruber-Lavin welcomed the audience and presented the agenda. Union president Senator h.c. Wolfgang Steinhardt presented to an interested audience a video from a “LAZARUS UNION Handicapped Air Day” as an example of the specific work of the union, which has in its focus to help and provide some joy to fellow human beings.

003

The Secretary General and his deputy, Dipl.-Ing. Herbert Paulis, in two presentations explained the basic values, the philosophy, and the history of the Union.

004

Doubtlessly the summit of the event was the handing over of a donation cheque and the Grand Cross of the UN-NGO Cross of Remembrance to the director of the Austrian office of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees, Dr. Christoph Pinter, by the union president.

On the occasion of being awarded the ECOSOC special consultative status the union donated the award UN-NGO Cross of Remembrance. The net profit from this award (2,500 € last year) is now adequately donated to the UNHCR for its work on a yearly Basis.

005

In his laudation the union president emphasised: “ … the pleasure and the honour to celebrate with you here the world-wide “Lazarus Day“. The name “Lazarus“ is a synonym for mercy, charity, and humanity. Also the names “Lazarett“ (which is German for a military hospital) and “Lazarite“ date back to St. Lazarus and were mentioned first in the context of a leper hospital outside Jerusalem in 344 AD. “ Regarding the relation between the union and the UN Senator h.c. Steinhardt explained: ” Having been awarded the “special consultative status“ has a great importance for us as LAZARUS UNION and is also considered a special honour. An honour we want to prove worthy of. So we have donated a special award for ALL people who want to assist us in supporting the spirit of the United Nations. “ He finished with the union motto as a challenge to all of us: ” Everybody can do something. Let us together provide new perspectives. “

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Subsequently the donation and the award were handed over.

008corr

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dr. Christoph Pinter emphasised in his acceptance speech the special importance of every single donation, especially in the context of today’s dramatic refugee situation. He gave an overview on the actual situation and the work of the UNHCR with its new daily challenges world-wide. In Austria – like in other Western European countries – the focus of the UNHCR activities is on the legal protection of people seeking asylum and accepted refugees. Dr. Pinter also gave a report on his visit in the refugee admission camp Traiskirchen and the dramatic situation in the camp.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The LAZARUS UNION Music Corps directed by Fritz Lentner provided for relaxation and entertainment during the programme, also very much appreciated by bypassing UN employees. The music also provided for an atmospheric conclusion of the celebration. After the end of the event we had a nice guided tour through the VIC for our guests .

002

In the name of the LAZARUS UNION we also want to express our deepest thanks to all employees of the VIC, especially to Mr. Nyron Sequeira (Representation and Protocol Assistant) and his team as well as all the security staff for their friendly assistance as all these people made our event possible in the first place.

 

Oliver Gruber-Lavin
Secretary General

 

Further Picture impressions:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_0124

IMG_0129

IMG_0136

IMG_0155

IMG_0158

IMG_0160

IMG_0163

IMG_0175

IMG_0178

IMG_0189

IMG_0191

IMG_0196

IMG_0197

IMG_0200

IMG_0202

IMG_0206

IMG_0208

IMG_0212

IMG_0215

IMG_0222

IMG_0224

IMG_0226

IMG_0229

IMG_0238

IMG_0258

IMG_0265

IMG_0271

IMG_0277

IMG_0288

IMG_0295

IMG_0299

IMG_0317

IMG_0323

IMG_0338

IMG_0340

IMG_0373

IMG_0403

UN-Vienna 29.07.2015 042

 

 

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Lazarus Tag 2015

Titelcoverbild NEW mit HP revised

 

LAZARUS-TAG 2015

IM VIENNA INTERNATIONAL CENTRE – VIC

VEREINTE NATIONEN

 

Spende und Ehrung für das Flüchtlingshochkommissariat

der Vereinten Nationen (UNHCR)

 

Oliver Gruber-Lavin obst csliEin Bericht von Oliver Gruber-Lavin, Generalsekretär der Lazarus Union

Hannes Hochmuth MK-EFMFotos Hannes Hochmuth (Pressefotograf) und Oliver Gruber-Lavin

 

Die Lazarus Union beging den Lazarus Tag 2015 im Vienna International Centre, dem Sitz der Vereinten Nationen in Wien. Das Vienna International Centre ist mit dem United Nations Office at Vienna (UNOV), neben New York (UNHQ), Genf (UNOG) und Nairobi (UNON) einer von vier offiziellen Amtssitzen der Vereinten Nationen. Das UNOV wurde am 1. Jänner 1980 als dritter Standort des UN-Sekretariats in Betrieb genommen.

Jeweils am 29. Juli begeht die Lazarus Union den „International Lazarus Day“, da dieser Tag nach anglikanischen, katholischen und evangelischen Ritus als Feiertag des Hl. Lazarus gefeiert wird, dessen Idealen sich die Union verpflichtet sieht.

Im Jahr 2015 gilt es aber auch zwei weitere Jubiläen zu begehen. Die Union feiert neben dem 5. Jährigen Bestehen in der gegenwärtigen Form auch den 1. Jahrestag der Zuerkennung des besonderen Konsultativstatuses beim Wirtschafts-und Sozialrat (ECOSOC) der Vereinten Nationen (NGO with special consultative status). Konkret bedeutet der Beraterstatus, dass der Lazarus Union neue Formen der Partizipation auf dem internationalen Parkett offenstehen. Ob bei offiziellen Sitzungen von Unterorganisationen, wie dem UN Human Rights Council oder bei internationalen Konferenzen und Events – kann die Union nicht nur teilnehmen, sondern auch in Form von mündlichen und schriftlichen Beiträgen aktiv an Entscheidungsfindungsprozessen und internationalen Debatten mitwirken. Der Konsultativstatus bietet auch die Möglichkeit Veranstaltungen in UNO-Gebäuden abzuhalten. So entschloss sich die Lazarus Union den Gedenktag 2015 im VIC zu begehen.

Den interessierten Besuchern, Gäste der Lazarus Union sowie Mitarbeitern und Mitarbeiterinnen der verschiedenen in Wien beheimateten internationalen Organisationen wurde ein buntes Programm aus Unterhaltung und Information geboten in dessen Mittelpunkt die Übergabe einer Spende und einer hohen Auszeichnung an das Flüchtlingshochkommissariat der Vereinten Nationen (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees UNHCR) stand.

001

Eingeleitet wurde der Festakt vom Musikkorps der Lazarus Union, das den Lazarus Marsch an die Spitze seiner Darbietungen stellte. Nach zwei weiteren Musikstücken wurden die Teilnehmer vom Generalsekretär der Union Oliver M. Gruber-Lavin herzlich willkommen geheißen, und in das Programm eingeführt. Der Unionspräsident, Senator h.c. Wolfgang Steinhardt, präsentierten dem interessierten Auditorium an Hand eines Videos über einen „Behindertenflugtag der Union“ exemplarisch die konkrete Arbeit der Union, in deren Mittelpunkt steht Mitmenschen zu helfen und Freude zu bereiten.

003

Der Generalsekretär sowie dessen Stellvertreter Dipl.-Ing. Herbert Paulis erläuterten in einer zweigeteilten Präsentation die Grundwerte, Philosophie und Geschichte der Union.

004

Zweifelsohne den Höhepunkt der Veranstaltung bildete die Übergabe eines Spendenschecks und des Großkreuzes des UN-NGO Erinnerungskreuz für den UNHCR an den Leiter des Österreich-Büros des UN-Flüchtlingshochkommissariats Dr. Christoph Pinter durch den Unionspräsidenten.

Anlässlich der Zuerkennung des Sonderberaterstatus durch die ECOSOC der UN wurde von der Union das UN-NGO Erinnerungskreuz gestiftet. Der Reinerlös aus dieser Stiftung, im letzten Jahr 2.500,00 € wird nun widmungsgemäß jährlich dem UNHCR für seine Arbeit übergeben.

005

In seiner Ansprache betonte der Unionspräsident „… das Vergnügen und die Ehre hier mit Ihnen den weltweiten „Lazarus Tag“ zu feiern. Der Name „Lazarus“ steht als Synonym für Barmherzigkeit, Nächstenliebe und Humanität. Auch der Name „Lazarett“ –bzw. „Lazariter“ geht auf den Hl. Lazarus zurück und wurde 344 n.Ch. unter dieser Bezeichnung erstmals urkundlich erwähnt.“ Bezüglich des Verhältnisses zwischen der Union und der UN erklärte Senator h.c. Steinhardt: „Der uns zuerkannte „Sonderberaterstatus“ bedeutet für uns als Lazarus Union sehr viel und ist für uns eine besondere Ehre. Eine Ehre, der wir uns würdig erweisen wollen. Wir haben daher eine ganz besondere Auszeichnung für ALLE Personen gestiftet, die im Sinne der Vereinten Nationen mit uns gemeinsam etwas tun wollen.“ Und endete mit dem Motto der Union als Aufforderung an uns alle: „Jeder kann etwas tun! Schaffen wir gemeinsam neue Perspektiven!“

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Im Anschluss erfolgte die Übergabe der Spende und Auszeichnung.

008corr

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dr. Christoph Pinter betonte in seiner Dankesrede die besondere Wichtigkeit jeder einzelnen Spende, gerade vor dem Hintergrund der heutigen dramatischen Flüchtlingssituation. Er gab einen Überblick über die aktuelle Lage und die Arbeit des UNHCR, dem sich weltweit geradezu täglich neue Herausforderungen stellen. In Österreich liegt der Schwerpunkt der UNHCR-Aktivitäten– wie auch in anderen westeuropäischen Staaten – im Bereich des Rechtsschutzes für Asylsuchende und anerkannte Flüchtlinge. Dr. Pinter berichtete auch über seinen Besuch im Erstaufnahmelager Traiskirchen und die dramatischen Zustände im Lager.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aufgelockert wurde das Programm jeweils durch musikalische Darbietungen des Musikkorps unter der Leitung von Fritz Lentner, die gerade auch von vorbeigehenden UN Mitarbeitern und Mitarbeiterinnen erfreut aufgenommen wurden. Mit Musik fand der Festakt auch seinen stimmungsvollen Ausklang. Danach fand noch eine interessante und sachkundige  Führung durch das VIC  für unsere Gäste statt.

002

Seitens der Union möchten wir noch allen Mitarbeitern und Mitarbeiterinnen des VIC, insbesondere Hrn. Nyron Sequeira (Representation and Protocol Assistant) und seinem Team, sowie den Verantwortlichen und Mitarbeitern des Wach- und Sicherheitsdienst des VIC für ihre freundliche Unterstützung unseren tiefen Dank aussprechen, da diese die Veranstaltung erst ermöglicht haben.

 

Oliver Gruber-Lavin
Generalsekretär

 

Weitere Bildimpressionen:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_0124

IMG_0129

IMG_0136

IMG_0155

IMG_0158

IMG_0160

IMG_0163

IMG_0175

IMG_0178

IMG_0189

IMG_0191

IMG_0196

IMG_0197

IMG_0200

IMG_0202

IMG_0206

IMG_0208

IMG_0212

IMG_0215

IMG_0222

IMG_0224

IMG_0226

IMG_0229

IMG_0238

IMG_0258

IMG_0265
IMG_0271

IMG_0277

IMG_0288

IMG_0295

IMG_0299

IMG_0317

IMG_0323

IMG_0338

IMG_0340

IMG_0373

IMG_0403

UN-Vienna 29.07.2015 042

 

image_print
Untitled Document