CSLI

Nostalgie Schifffahrt

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Austrian Marine Association (ÖMV),

the Naval Fellowship Archduke Ferdinand Max

CSLI (MK-EFM)

and friends cruise the Wachau

 

 

 

A report by Captain ret. Hans-Rudolf Gries

 

 

On Sunday the 30th June 2013 the historic side-wheeler, ‘Stadt Wien’, built in 1938 in the Korneuburg shipyard, carried us very comfortably from Krems to Melk. We began, after getting the Captain’s consent, by hoisting the Flag of the Austrian Marine Association.

The saloon had been reserved for a total of 30 people, and, after a short speech by the President of ÖMV, Anton Karl Skrivanek, this beautiful day’s event was initiated with a glass of sparkling wine. Comrade Ing. Reiter (I hope I have his name correct) who, as Captain, piloted the ship for 8 years, then told us some anecdotes about it until, passing Dürnstein with its many wine and fruit gardens and imposing castles, we reached Melk.

But first, in Emmersdorf, many cruise boats blocked our landing place. For the brass band this was no obstacle, they had come over by bus and played on magnificently. Our President ‘helped out’ by conducting the playing of The Radetzky March, though unkind commentators noted that the musicians looked only at their music!

I myself got hold of tickets for a visit to Melk Abbey. This Benedictine monastery was established in the 11th Century under the direct control of the Pope. The present baroque building was erected in the years 1702-1746 by Jakob Prandtauer. As the symbol of the Wachau, it is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It also houses the oldest school inAustria, the Stiftsgymnasium. The guided tour took 40 minutes and was very interesting and enlightening. After that we took the bus back to the pier in Melk.

There waiting for us was the paddle steamer ‘Schönbrunn’, which was once the Parade Ship of the DDSG. This ship was built in Budapestin 1912 and recently proudly celebrated its 100th birthday. The journey downstream to Krems was much faster than the journey upstream. Jacket swapping and suggesting designs for an appropriate banner resulted in much hilarity and, with excellent sausages and on-board music, time quickly passed. So it was that by seven o’clock we were once again in Krems.

My conclusion: Cultural as well as informative, it was a very beautiful and enjoyable day. A big ‘thank you’ to the organizer. A small suggestion: next time the Vienna-Bratislava trip?

 

Hans-Rudolf Gries

 

Technical Data: Ship “Stadt Wien”

 

Length: 77 M., Width: 16 M., Draft: 1.4 M. Displacement: 600T. 4 decks.
Passengers: 550 persons.
Engine:
2 Sulzer diesels Mod.8 DDA 22, min. speed ​​500 Normal Performance Engine 460 hp powering 2 generators built in 1939 each with 298 kW/240V/550AMP driving 2 electric motors, each with 244 kW/485V/550AMP acting on the blades.

 

Technical Data: Ship ” Schönbrunn “

 

Length: 75 M., Beam: 16M., Draft: 1.7 M.
Passengers: 450 persons.
Engine:
Steam engine with 712 hp -524 kW. Max speed: 15.6 knots 29 km/h.

 

Pictures by:
Hannes Hochmuth, Pressefotograf, Hans-Rudolf Gries und Wolfgang Steinhardt
We thank the photographers!

 

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Nostalgie Schifffahrt

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ausflug des

Österreichischen Marineverbandes (ÖMV)

und der

Marinekameradschaft Erzherzog Ferdinand Max -

CSLI (MK-EFM)

mit ihren Freunden in die Wachau.

 

 

 

 

Ein Bericht von Kapitän a.D. Hans-Rudolf Gries

 

Am Sonntag den 30. Juni 2013 erwartete uns das historische Seitenradschiff ,,Stadt Wien“  erbaut 1938 in der Schiffswerft Korneuburg,  in Krems und brachte uns in gemütlicher Atmosphäre nach Melk. Als erstens wurde mit Einverständnis des Kapitäns die Flagge des Österreichischen Marineverband gehisst.

Der Saloon war bereits für insgesamt 30 Personen reserviert und nach einer kleinen Ansprache des Präsidenten des ÖMV Anton Karl Skrivanek  wurde mit einem Glas Sekt auf diesen schönen Tag und dessen Ereignis angestoßen. Auch Kamerad Robert Riegerr (Obmann der MK-Fregatte Novara) der dieses Schiff 8 Jahre lang als Kapitän steuerte gab einige Anekdoten zum Besten. An  Dürnstein und den vielen Wein und Obstgärten mit imposanten Ritterburgen zogen wir gemächlich vorbei und erreichten Melk.

Angelegt wurde aber wegen der vielen Kreuzfahrerschiffe die unseren Landesteg blockierten, aber zuerst  in Emmersdorf. Für die Blasmusikkapelle war auch dieses kein Hindernis, sie kamen mit dem Bus herüber und spielten dann groß auf. Den Radetzkymarsch dirigierte sogar unser Präsident, böse Zungen sprachen  „…die schauen sowieso nur auf Ihre Noten…“.

Selbst ergatterte ich noch Karten für einen Besuch des Stiftes Melk. Das Benediktinerkloster wurde im 11. Jahrhundert errichtet und war direkt dem Papst unterstellt. Der heutige Barock-Bau wurde in den Jahren 1702–1746 von Jakob Prandtauer errichtet. Als Wahrzeichen der Wachau gehört es zum UNESCO- Welterbe. Weiteres beherbergt es die älteste Schule Österreichs, das Stiftsgymnasium. Die Führung dauerte 40 Minuten war sehr interessant und aufschlussreich. Danach ging’s mit dem Bus wieder zur Anlegestelle in Melk.

Jetzt erwartete uns der Schaufelraddampfer  Schönbrunn, der einst das Paradeschiff der DDSG war. Dieses Schiff wurde bereits 1912 in Budapest gebaut und feierte mit Stolz Ihren 100er. Wesentlich schneller ging’s stromabwärts nach Krems zurück. Für Heiterkeit sorgten noch ein Sakkotausch und verschiedene Entwürfe für ein Banner. Bei der ausgezeichneten Würstelparty mit  Bordmusik verging die Zeit viel zu rasch und kurz vor 19 Uhr legten wir wieder in Krems an.

Mein Resümee: Es war sowohl kulturell wie auch informativ ein sehr schöner und heiterer Tag. Ein Dankeschön an den Veranstalter. Kleine Anregung. Das nächste Mal  Wien-Bratislava?

Hans-Rudolf Gries

 

Technische Daten Schiff „Stadt Wien“

Länge: 77 Meter,  Breite: 16 M. 4 Decks, Tiefgang: 1,4 M. Verdrängung:  600T Fahrgäste: 550 Personen,
Motorisierung:
2 Stk. Sulzer Diesel Mod.8 DDA 22 Drehzahl Min. 500. Normalleistung pro Motor 460 PS wirken auf 2 Stk. Generatoren Baujahr 1939 mit je 298 KW/240V/550AMP und betreiben 2 Stk. E-Motoren mit je 244 KW/485 V/550 AMP welche auf die Schaufelräder wirken

Technische Daten  Schiff „Schönbrunn“

Länge:  75 M., Breite:  16M Tiefgang: 1,7 m
Fahrgäste: 450 Passagiere.
Motorisierung:
Dampfmaschine mit 712 PS -524 kW  Geschwindigkeit max. 15,6 Knoten-29 km/h

 

Die Fotos wurden zur Verfügung gestellt von:
Hannes Hochmuth, Pressefotograf, Hans-Rudolf Gries und Wolfgang Steinhardt
Wir danken herzlich!

 

 

 

image_print
Untitled Document