CSLI

Partnerschaftstreffen in Venedig

 

 

 

 

´Report by  Marine Comrade Dr. Oswin Hochstöger

 

From 04.09.2014 to 13.04.2014, members of the Naval Fellowship Archduke Ferdinand Max (Chairman Wolfgang Steinhardt and Comrade Dr. Oswin Hochstöger) took part in partnership meetings between the OMV and the Italian naval association AMNI.

The occasion was the signing of a twinning agreement between the Austrian Naval Association and the Italian Naval Association, which took place in a suitably impressive ceremony at the Naval Church of San Biagio in Castello,Venice. Among other reasons, the church was selected because the heart of an Austrian Archduke of the Habsburg Dynasty, Friedrich von Habsburg, is interred here.

A palm was consecrated in front of the Church and then Mass was celebrated before the signing of the twinning agreement documents. Five members of the House of HabsburgLorraine, and the Austrian Military Attachée fromRome, attended the ceremony. Hereta and Sandor von Habsburg presented the Italian comrades with a symbol of peace and understanding (flame of peace).

The Italian Navy Association really spoiled their Austrian Navy comrades with a great supporting program. This included a reception in the State Parliament of Venice followed by a buffet, a lagoon tour of the fortifications of San Andrea and a wreath-laying ceremony at sea.

This was followed by a wreath-laying ceremony at the cemeteryislandofSan Michele, at which members of all the uniformed comradeship associations ofItalywere present (Alpini, Bersaglieri, Carabinieri, etc.)

The cultural and culinary highlight of the social program was a gala reception at the Palazzo Foscari preceded by a concert of medieval court and banquet music played by Venetian music professors on old instruments.

The whole event was very well organised by the President of the OMV, Colonel (Retd.) Karl Skrivanek and the President of the Venetian AMNI, Sub-Lieutenant Pinto. Special memories that will remain are the warm atmosphere that characterized the entire program, an improvised group vocal performance in the bar of the local Venice Marine Association and the excursion to the old Arsenal.

This visit by the Austrian Naval Association will be followed in the autumn with a return visit toViennaby the Venetian Naval Association. We hope that we can then offer our Italian comrades an equally great event and supporting program.

 Goodbye Venice !

 

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Partnerschaftstreffen in Venedig

 

 

 

Bericht von Marinekamerad Dr. Oswin Hochstöger

 

Mitglieder der Marinekameradschaft Erzherzog Ferdinand Max (Obmann Wolfgang Steinhardt und Kamerad Dr. Oswin Hochstöger) nahmen in der Zeit von 9.4.2014 bis 13.4.2014 am Partnerschaftstreffen des ÖMV mit dem italienischen Marineverband A.M.N.I. teil.

Anlass war die Unterzeichnung einer Partnerschaftsurkunde zwischen dem Österreichischen Marineverband und dem italienischen Marineverband, welche in besonders feierlicher Form in der Marinekirche des Arsenals von Venedig San Biagio stattfand. Die Kirche wurde unter anderem auch deshalb ausgewählt, weil in ihr das Herz eines österreichischen Erzherzogs aus dem Hause Habsburg, nämlich Friedrich von Habsburg, aufbewahrt wird.

Vor der Unterzeichnung der Urkunden fand eine Palmweihe vor der Kirche und danach die Messe statt. Der Feier wohnten auch fünf Mitglieder des Hauses Habsburg-Lothringen sowie der österreichische Militärattachée in Rom bei. Hereta und Sandor von Habsburg überreichten den italienischen Kameraden auch ein Symbol des Friedens und der Verständigung (Flamme des Friedens).

Der italienische Marineverband hat die österreichischen Marinekameraden mit einem tollen Rahmenprogramm verwöhnt. Unter anderem fand ein Empfang im Landtag von Venetien mit anschließendem Buffet, sowie eine Lagunenrundfahrt mit einer Kranzniederlegung auf dem Meer bei den Befestigungen von San Andrea statt.

Es folgten Kranzniederlegungen auf der Friedhofsinsel San Michele, bei der alle Vertreter der uniformierten Kameradschaftsverbände Italiens anwesend waren (Alpini, Bersaglieri, Carabinieri, etc.)

Kultureller und kulinarischer Höhepunkt des Rahmenprogramms war ein Galaempfang im Palazzo Foscari, dem ein Konzert mit mittelalterlicher Hof- und Tafelmusik, gespielt von venezianischen Musikprofessoren auf alten Instrumenten, voran ging.

Die Veranstaltung war vom Präsidenten des Österreichischen Marineverbandes Oberst i.R. Karl Skrivanek und dem Präsidenten des venezianischen Marineverbandes Sottoteniente Pinto  hervorragend organisiert. In besonderer Erinnerung bleiben wird uns die herzliche Stimmung die die gesamte Veranstaltung prägte und eine improvisierte gemeinsame Gesangsdarbietung im Bordlokal der Marinekameradschaft Venedig und der Besuch des alten Arsenals.

Dem Besuch der österreichischen Marinekameraden soll im Herbst ein Gegenbesuch der venezianischen Marinekameraden in Wien folgen. Wir hoffen dass wir den italienischen Kameraden dann ein genauso tolles Veranstaltungs- und Rahmenprogramm bieten werden können.

 Addio Venezia !

 

image_print
Untitled Document