CSLI

Investitur Portsmouth 2012

 

Investiture Portsmouth 2012

 

Lazarus Union is connected  with the Order of St. Joachim in a longstanding friendship and alliance. The order of St. Joachim is also a member of the Lazarus Union and many high officers and Knights of the Lazarus Union are also in this order, and vice versa many of the friars hold high command posts in the Lazarus Union. Even the eminent British naval hero of the battle of Trafalgar, Admiral Lord Horatio Nelson was a Grand Cross Knight and Commander of the Order. The Order of Saint Joachim was founded in 1755 by the Elector of Saxony and King ofPolandfrom the House of Wettin (=Windsor) and Battenberg (=Mountbatten). The members of the Order of St. Joachim by the year 1830 (reform of the House of Lords) had even seat and vote in that body. (This is historically proven). As our president and Union commander  since 2009, is Grand Cross Knight and Commander of the German-Austrian Commend “Leopold II” of the Order ofSt.Joachim, the participation in the investiture of the Order is not only a matter of course, but always a very nice experience for all participants.

 

 

 

 

A report by Prof. Hans König over the travel to Portsmouth 8. to 12. 11. 2012

 

Our flight toLondonwas smooth and also the rail links toPortsmouthfunctioned nearly without troubles.

The Holiday Inn of Portsmouth received us professionally and friendly.

Friday, 9. 11.

Our group, the Federal commander Senator hc. Wolfgang Steinhardt, my wife Anita and I explored together the historic Dockyard atPortsmouth. Right at the beginning a highlight: the visit of HMS Victory, which is still in active service in the Royal Navy.

Currently, because of repairs to the rigs only lower masts are visible​​, but still it was a great impression. The nearly 70-meter three-masted vessel, Currently, because of repairs to the rigs only lower masts are visible​​, but still it was a great impression. The nearly 70-meter three-masted vessel, with its three gun decks are still a fascinating picture of a first Class ship of the line at the time of the Napoleonic wars. The ship was famous for the Battle of Trafalgar, 1805, in which the Spanish and French fleets were decisively defeated and Britannia got the hegemony over the world’s oceans. Unfortunately, Admiral Horatio Nelson lost his life during the battle by a shot o a french musket.

We visited also some other  very interesting ship museums and of course the nautical souvenir shops.

At night there was a first meeting with the candidates and some representatives oft he Joachim Order in the 700 year old Dolphin Inn, a comfortable, time-honored pub. Again, the welcome was very warm and cheerful.

Saturday 10.11.

The day began in the investiture of the 800 year old Garrison Church of Portsmouth. A solemn and memorable act, although the number of participants was lower, as in the Austrian CSLI knighthood investiture  My wife Anita and I were the only ones who were invested in the  knighthood to Knight or Dame by Dr. Bryan R.Olive. Wolfgang Steinhardt, as our commander, gave some brief, heartfelt words to the participants.

After that we went by bus to the historic docks at a lunch reception on HMS Warrior. A very informative tour of the many decks of this first steel ship of the Royal Navy showed us the major reforms that have been made in the period between 1760 and 1860. Not only by the introduction of the steam engine and the propeller, but also the social improvements of the sailors. .In the officer wardrooms expected us a magnificent set table and a fabulous lunch, a culinary delicacy.

A little later we went back to the the “Dolphin”. This time  had dinner in the venerable Trafalgar Rooms in which Nelson had allegedly supplied before its final voyage. A typical and delicious  English Dinner oft he Navy was served. Together with for us as yet unknown toasts, Shanties of theNavy  like  the “Hearts of Oak” and a presentation of a model of a ship oft he line, decorated with sparklers.

Sunday, 11.11.

It began with a moving service  for Remembrance Day, the British Memorial Day to the Fallen. An excellent choir filled the old nave of St. Thomas Cathedral.

Then we went into the historic Officers Ward Rooms HMS Nelson. A magnificent officers’ mess which documented the glory of the Royal Navy. We dined at the historical table on which the Italian, and the Japanese captiulation had been signed. The huge walls are ornated by frescoes of the most famous historic sailing ships ofEngland, the pride of Britain.

Here, the roast beef with gravy and Yorkshire pudding tastes great, too. Together with the touching environment, the exact military service and the magnificent table equipment – it will be always memorable for us.

Also the weather was fairly nice with a smooth autumn sun on the Gosport, the sea inlet of Portsmouth.

The return of this impressive trip turned out  easily.

 

Prof.Hans König – the recently youngest Knight of the Order of St. Joachim.

 

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Investitur Portsmouth 2012

 

Investitur Portsmouth 2012

 

Mit dem Orden des Hl. Joachim verbindet die Lazarus Union eine langjährige Freundschaft und Verbundenheit und er zählt zu den am längsten mit der Lazarus Union befreundeten Organisationen. Er ist auch Mitglied in der Lazarus Union und viele hohe Offiziere der Lazarus Union sind auch Ritter in diesem Orden und umgekehrt bekleiden viele Ordensmitglieder hohe Kommandostellen in der Lazarus Union. Auch der herausragende englische Seeheld der Seeschlacht von Trafalgar, Admiral Lord Horatio Nelson, war Großkreuzritter und Kommandeur des Ordens. Der Orden des Hl. Joachim wurde 1755 von dem Kürfürsten von Sachsen und König von Polen aus dem Hause der Wettiner (=Windsor) und Battenberger (=Mountbatten) gegründet. Die Mitglieder des Ordens des Hl. Joachim hatten bis zum Jahr 1830 (Reform des englischen Oberhauses) sogar Sitz und Stimme in diesem Gremium. (Das ist historisch belegt). Da unser Präsident und Unionskommandant auch seit dem Jahre 2009 Großkreuzritter und Kommandant der Deutsch-Österreichischen Kommende „Leopold II.“ des Ordens des Hl. Joachim ist, sind die Teilnahmen an den Investituren des Ordens nicht nur eine Selbstverständlichkeit, sondern immer wieder ein sehr schönes Erlebnis für alle Beteiligten.

 

 

 

 

 

Bericht von Prof. Hans König über die Reise nach Portsmouth 8. bis 12. 11. 2012

 

Unser Flug nach London verlief problemlos, auch die Bahnverbindungen funktionierten fast klaglos.

Das Holiday Inn empfing uns freundlich und professionell.

Freitag, 9. 11.

Unsere Gruppe, Bundeskommandant Senator hc. Wolfgang Steinhardt,  meine Gattin Anita und ich erkundeten gemeinsam die historischen Dockyards von Portsmouth. Gleich zu Beginnein Höhepunkt: der Besuch von HMS Victory, das noch im aktiven Dienst der Royal Navy steht.

Derzeit sind wegen der Reparatur des Riggs  nur die Untermasten gestellt, aber trotzdem war es ein großartiger Eindruck. Der fast 70 Meter lange Dreimaster, mit seinen drei Kanonendecks gibt auch heute noch ein faszinierendes Bild eines Linienschiffs 1. Klasse zur Zeit der napoleonischen Kriege. Berühmt wurde das Schiff durch die Schlacht von Trafalgar, 1805, in dem die spanische und französische Flotten entscheidend geschlagen wurden und Britannia die Vorherrschaft über die Weltmeere erlang. Leider verlor Admiral Horatio Nelson dabei durch einen Musketenschuss sein Leben.

Wir besuchten noch einige hochinteressante Schiffsmuseen und natürlich auch die nautischen Souvenirshops.

Am Abend gab es ein erstes Zusammentreffen mit den Vertretern und einigen Anwärtern des Ordens des Hl. Joachim im 700 Jahre alten Dolphin Inn, ein gemütliches, altehrwürdiges Pub. Auch hier war der Empfang herzlich und heiter.

Samstag 10.11.

Der Tag der Investitur begann in der über 800 Jahre alten „Garrison Church“ in Portsmouth. Ein feierlicher, denkwürdiger Akt, wiewohl die Anzahl der Teilnehmer weit geringer, wie bei der österreichischen CSLI Ritterschaftsinvestitur, waren. Meine Gattin Anita und ich waren die einzigen, die durch Ritterschlag zu Dame bzw. Knight durch DDr. Bryan R.Olive geschlagen wurden. Wolfgang Steinhardt richtete, als unser Kommandant, einige kurze, herzliche Worte an die Teilnehmer.

Im Anschluss daran ging es per Bus zu den historischen Docks zu einem Mittagsempfang auf der HMS Warrior. Eine sehr informativen Führung durch die vielen Decks dieses ersten Stahlschiffs der Royal Navy zeigte uns die großen Reformen, die in der Zeit zwischen 1760 und 1860 vorgenommen wurden. Nicht nur durch die Einführung der Dampfmaschine und der Schiffsschraube, sondern auch die soziale Besserstellung der Matrosen. Im Offiziersquarterdeck erwarteten uns eine lange, prächtige Tafel und ein fabelhafter Lunch, ein kulinarischer Leckerbissen.

Wenig später ging es wieder zu Tisch, wiederum in den „Dolphin“. Diesmal in die ehrwürdigen Trafalgarräume, in denen angeblich Nelson vor seiner letzten Fahrt gespeist hatte. Ein typisch englisches Navyessen wurde aufgetischt, zusammen mit uns noch unbekannten Trinksprüchen, Navyshanties, wie die „Hearts of Oak“ und eine Präsentation eines mit Wunderkerzen geschmücktes Schiffsmodell.

Sonntag 11.11.

Es begann mit einem ergreifenden Gesangsgottesdienst zum Remembrance Day, dem englischen Volkstrauertag für die Gefallenen. Ein hervorragender Chor erfüllte das alte Kirchenschiff der St. Thomas Kathedrale.

Anschließend ging es in die  historischen Officers Wardrooms der HMS Nelson. Ein prachtvolles Offizierscasino das den Ruhm der Royal Navy dokumentierte. Wir speisten an dem historischen Tisch, auf dem die italienische, als auch die japanische Kaptiulation unterschrieben worden waren. An den riesigen Wänden zeigten Fresken der berühmtesten historischen Segelschiffe Englands den Stolz Britanniens.

Auch hier schmeckte das Roastbeef mit Sauce und Yorkshirepudding hervorragend. Zusammen mit der ergreifenden Umgebung, dem militärisch exakten Service und der prachtvollen Tafelausstattung – es wird für uns unvergesslich sein. Dazu spielte auch das Wetter halbwegs mit – dünne Herbstsonne über dem Gosport, dem Meeresarm von Portsmouth.

Die Rückkehr von diesem beeindruckenden Ausflug gestaltete sich problemlos.

Prof. Hans König – jüngster Knight of the Order of St. Joachim.

 

image_print
Untitled Document