CSLI

Thoughts on the investiture for Postulants

/investitur-sopron-2012/

Thoughts on the investiture for postulants

Vienna, February 2013

Dear Knights and Postulants,

dear Guests, dear Officers and Comrades!

The Union Corps Saint Lazarus International, short CSLI or Lazarus Union, sees itself somewhat as a “traditional heir“ of the former knight‘s armies, especially bound to the ideals and the body of thought of Saint Lazarus of Bethany. The four CSLI cornerstones all CSLI members try to follow during their life are:

tolerance, humbleness, mercy and charity.

The CSLI is neither a “society of knights“ nor  a “military order“ but an international union trying to help people or simply provide them a little pleasure, according to possibilities and local ways. At the moment the CSLI has more than 15,000 members in over 60 organisations in different countries on all five continents and still continues to grow.

The chivalric virtues our community feels bound to have lost nothing of their importance in our modern times. To hold a chivalric attitude does neither depend on descent nor religion nor skin colour nor class nor money. This attitude grows and prospers only through the humans themselves who not only carry such an attitude in their heart but are also willing to advocate it and fight for it.

To be a knight respectively behave in a chivalric manner never was easy and will not be so in the future, burdening us until we cannot take any more. To accept this in humbleness and dignity is, at least as I see it, a privilege not granted to everybody. So we should accept this task with delight and engagement, trying all we can to prove ourselves worthy of this task. Personal pettishness shall and must be subordinate to the great common goals.

The postulants receiving the dignities of a knight of honour in an investiture have always tried to live and act in accordance with these virtues. Their stand towards our core values was exemplary and the postulants by such have truly earned the dignity and distinction to belong to the Lazarus Union‘s Knighthood of Honour. This statement is not and was never intended to be a snap-shot and I want a quote from the late Pope John XXIII to accompany you on your way:

“My sisters and brothers, you should never begin to stop and never stop to begin!”

Like in past times when the actions of one single warrior could decide whole battles also today it depends on EVERY single one, how he is able to fulfil HIS tasks as a “modern knight.“ Be courageous!

As Grand Master of our Knighthood of Honour I have the great honour and pleasure to decorate and honour your merits in public by this investiture and to award the postulants in this ceremony the dignity of a Knight of Honour of the Lazarus Union.

Surely it is not by chance that the Lazarus Union Knights of Honour in countries like Brazil, Argentina, Italy, Germany, the United Kingdom, the Ukraine, and of course in Austria feel obliged to the chivalric virtues. It rather shows an increasing desire to personally counter by their own actions and efforts a most questionable world-wide development, more and more characterised by egoism.

I hope that this shining example also inspires other people to not only care for themselves and their own well-being but also to altruistically bring pleasure to other fellow men and to be ready to forgive, always and everywhere.

 

Senator h.c. Wolfgang Steinhardt

Grand Master of the Lazarus Union Knighthood of Honour

 

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Gedanken zur Investitur für Postulanten

/investitur-sopron-2012/

Gedanken zur Investitur für Postulanten

Wien, Februar 2013

Hohe Geistlichkeit, sehr geehrte Ritter und Postulanten,
sehr geehrte Gäste, geehrte Offiziere und Kameraden !

Das Union Corps Saint Lazarus International, kurz CSLI oder Lazarus Union genannt, sieht sich in seiner Formation ein wenig als „Traditionsnachfolger“ der früheren Ritterheere. Vor allem aber den Idealen und dem Gedankengut des Hl. Lazarus von Bethanien verpflichtet. Die vier Eckpfeiler des CSLI, nach denen alle CSLI Mitglieder zu leben und zu handeln versuchen, sind:

Toleranz, Demut, Barmherzigkeit und Nächstenliebe.

Das CSLI ist keine „Rittervereinigung“ oder ein „Ritterorden“ sondern eine internationale Vereinigung, die je nach Möglichkeit und lokalen Gegebenheiten versucht, Menschen zu helfen oder einfach eine kleine Freude zu bereiten. Derzeit hat das CSLI  über 15.000 Mitglieder, über 60 Organisationen in verschiedenen Ländern auf allen fünf Kontinenten und wächst laufend und kontinuierlich weiter.

Die ritterlichen Tugenden, denen sich unsere Gemeinschaft verbunden fühlt, haben auch in der modernen Zeit nichts an Bedeutung verloren. Eine ritterliche Gesinnung in sich zu tragen ist nicht abhängig von Herkunft, Religion, Hautfarbe, Stand und Geld. Diese Gesinnung wächst und gedeiht nur durch die Menschen selbst, die eine solche Gesinnung im Herzen tragen, bereit sind dafür auch zu kämpfen und einzustehen.

Ritter bzw. ritterlich zu sein zu sein war niemals einfach und wird auch in der Zukunft Anforderungen an uns stellen, die bis an die Grenze der Belastung gehen können. Dies in Demut und in Würde anzunehmen und zu ertragen ist auch, so meine ich jedenfalls, ein PRIVILEG, welches nicht allen Menschen gewährt wird. Wir sollten uns dieser Aufgabe daher mit Freude und Engagement stellen und alles versuchen uns dieser Aufgabe auch würdig zu erweisen. Persönliche Empfindlichkeiten sollen und müssen dem gesamten gemeinsamen Zielen untergeordnet werden.

Ihr, sehr geehrte Postulanten, habt Euch immer bemüht, diese ritterlichen Tugenden zu leben und danach zu handeln. Eure Einstellung zu unserem Leitbild ist vorbildlich und Ihr habt Euch dadurch die Würde und die Auszeichnung, der Ehrenritterschaft der Lazarus Union anzugehören, redlich verdient. Diese Feststellung ist und soll aber keine „Momentaufnahme“ sein und ich möchte Euch ein Zitat des verstorbenen Papstes Johannes XXIII mit auf den Weg geben. Er sagte nämlich:

“Meine Schwestern und Brüder, Ihr sollt niemals anfangen aufzuhören und niemals aufhören anzufangen!”

So wie in frühren Zeiten, wo die Tat eines Einzelnen ganze Schlachten entschieden hat, kommt es auch heute auf JEDEN Einzelnen an, wie er SEINE Aufgabe als „moderner Ritter“ zu erfüllen vermag. Seid mutig!

Ich habe als Großmeister unserer Ehrenritterschaft die große Ehre und Freude, diese Eure Verdienste in einer Investitur öffentlich auszeichnen und ehren zu dürfen und Euch in dieser Zeremonie die Würde eines Ehrenritters der Lazarus Union zu verleihen.

Ich hoffe, dass Eure Vorbildwirkung auch andere Menschen inspirieren möge, nicht nur an sich und die eigenen Befindlichkeiten zu denken, sondern auch anderen Mitmenschen uneigennützig Freude zu bereiten.

 

Senator h.c. Wolfgang Steinhardt
Großmeister der Ehrenritterschaft der Lazarus Union

 

image_print
Untitled Document