CSLI

Investitur 2013 Brasilien/Rio de Janeiro

 

 

 

Investiture 2013

Brazil/Rio de Janeiro

from 28.2. to 8.3.2013

Report by Wolfgang Steinhardt

(Translated into English by Mjr CSLI Mike Boxall) 

 

 

At the invitation of the Grand Prior of the Brazilian Grand Priory of the United Grand Priories of the Hospitaller Order of Saint Lazarus of Jerusalem, Dr.Oswin Hochstöger (Vice President of Corps Saint Lazarus Austria-CSLA) and I attended an investiture ceremony in Rio de Janeiro. Our host, GenLt CSLI Roberto Ortiz, is the CSLI Commander for Latin America and Brazil as well as Grand Prefect of the Lazarus Union Knighthood of Honour in Brazil.

 

The flight on 28.2.2013, fromVienna via Amsterdam to Rio de Janeiro, took about 16 hours so we were fairly tired on our arrival at Rio but waiting for us at the airport was Capt CSLI Marcos Antonio Penna, ready to guide us to our hotel.

 

The hotel was in the “Leblon” district, a very safe and pleasant area. From the hotel room we had a direct view of the Corcovado Christ statue and the hotel also featured a large swimming pool on the roof.

 

For the next day, discussions and preparatory meetings had been planned with Roberto Ortiz. Procedings concluded with ‚snacks’ of ten different, deliciously prepared, beef products. Costing very little for as much as we could eat, these were greatly enjoyed.

 

Later we also enjoyed seeing Rio de Janeiro’s large and wonderful Botanical Garden.

 

 

 

The Investiture itself lasted over two hours, not only because the founding of the new future “Agnus Dei” and the establishment of the Grand Priory of Brazil meant the officials had to be sworn in, but also because ​​many recordings and awards were also made. I myself had the great honour to act as Head of the Investiture, representing the Grand Chancellor of the the Hospitaller Order of Saint Lazarus of Jerusalem, Dr. Max J. Ellul from Malta.

 

The closing gala luncheon following the Investiture echoed to the friendly sound of many comradely discussions.

The following days were filled with sightseeing and further talks about the work of the CSLI in Brazil and Latin America, as well as other future plans. The CSLI in Brazil, currently with almost 1,000 members (including the “Patrulha  Aeria Civil – PAC” organization, a group member of the Lazarus Union), is one of the largest national organizations of the Lazarus Union and a major Prefecture of the Lazarus Union Knights of Honour. Latin Americais the continent with probably the most members and friends of the Lazarus Union.

 

We visited, among others, the National Theatre, the famous “Sambadrome”, the modern 145-meter-high modern Cathedral of Rio de Janeiro with a capacity of 20,000 people and, of course, the Corcovado and the blessing – the huge statue of  Christ at the summit.

 

We also drove throughRio’s “favelas”, or slums, but getting out of the car wasn’t recommended. Viewing from a distance was safer.

 

The culmination was the visit to the summit of the world famous “Sugar Loaf” mountain, for me the ultimate experience. From here helicopters start their unforgettable sightseeing flights, and you get the best views of the amazing landscape in which Rio de Janeiro is set.

 

Walking on the famous Copacabana and Leblon beaches and seeing the inland lagoon brought our wonderful stay inRio de Janeiroto an end. After eight days of new and beautiful experiences and making many new friends, on 8.3.2013 Oswin and I, after a flight of 17 hours, landed safely back in Vienna.

Wolfgang Steinhardt

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Investitur 2013 Brasilien/Rio de Janeiro

 

 

Investitur 2013

Brasilien/Rio de Janeiro

28.2. bis 8.3.2013

Bericht von Wolfgang Steinhardt

 

 

Auf Einladung des Großpriors des Großpriorates Brasilien der Vereinigten Großpriorate des Hospitalischen Ordens des Hl. Lazarus von Jerusalem, Kommandant des CSLI Lateinamerika und Brasilien, sowie Großpräfekt der Ehrenritterschaft der Lazarus Union für Brasilien, GenLt CSLI Roberto Ortiz, fuhren Dr.Oswin Hochstöger (Vizepräsident des Corps Saint Lazarus Austria-CSLA) und ich (auf eigene Kosten!) zur den Investiturfeierlichkeiten nach Rio de Janeiro.

Über von Wien über Amsterdam nach Rio de Janeiro am 28.2.2013, dauerte die Reise über 16 Stunden und wir kamen relativ erschöpft in Rio de Janeiro an, wo wir schon auf dem Flughafen von Hptm CSLI Marcos Antonio Penna erwartet wurden und der uns auch in unser Hotel begeleitete.

Das Hotel lag im Stadtteil „Leblon“, eine sehr gute und sichere Wohngegend und vom Hotelzimmer hatten wir einen direkten Blick auf den Corcovado mit der überdimensionalen Christusstatue mit Pool auf dem Dach.

Für den kommenden Tag waren Besprechungen und Vorbereitungsgespräche mit Roberto Ortiz geplant und zum Abschluss genossen wird um wenig Geld zehn verschiedene, köstlich zubereitete  Rindfleischsorten soviel wie essen konnten.

Sehenswert ist auf alle Fälle auch der große wunderschöne Botanische Garten von Rio de Janeiro.

 

Die Investitur selbst dauerte über zwei Stunden, da nicht nur die neue Kommende „Agnus Die“ des Großpriorates von Brasilien gegründet und etabliert wurde und deren Funktionäre vereidigt werden mussten, sondern es erfolgten auch viele Aufnahmen und Auszeichnungen. Ich selbst hatte die große Ehre als Leiter dieser Investitur, in Vertretung des Großkanzlers des Hospitalschen Ordens des Hl. Lazarus von Jerusalem, Dr. Max J. Ellul aus Malta, fungieren zu dürfen.

 

 

Beim abschließenden Galalunch klang diese Investitur mit kameradschaftlichen Gesprächen freundschaftlich aus.

Die folgenden Tage waren ausgefüllt mit Stadtbesichtigungen und weiteren Gesprächen über die Arbeit des CSLI in Brasilien und Lateinamerika, sowie die weiteren Zukunftsplanungen. Schließlich ist das CSLI Brasilien mit derzeit fast 1000  Mitgliedern (inklusive der Organisation „Patrulha Aéria Civil – PAC“, ein Gruppenmitglied der Lazarus Union) eine der größten Landesorganisationen der Lazarus Union und Großpräfektur der Ehrenritterschaft der Lazarus Union und das CSLI Lateinamerika der Kontinent mit den wohl meisten Mitgliedern und Freunden der Lazarus Union.

Besichtigt wurden unter Anderem das Nationaltheater, das berühmte „Sambadrom“, die moderne 145 Meter hohe moderne Kathedrale von Rio de Janeiro mit einem Fassungsvermögen von 20.000 Personen und natürlich auch der Corcovado mit der segnenden, überdimensionalen Christusstatue auf dem Gipfel.

Wir fuhren auch durch die Armenviertel, aber dort war das Aussteigen aus dem Auto eher nicht empfehlenswert. Ein Blick aus der Ferne war sicherer.

Als krönenden Abschluss war der Besuch auf dem Gipfel des weltberühmten „Zuckerhutes“ für mich ein ultimatives Erlebnis, da vom Gipfel des Zuckerhutes auch Hubschrauber zu unvergesslichen Rundflügen starten und von hier aus die einmalige Landschaft, in welche Rio de Janeiro eingebettet ist, am besten zu betrachten ist.

Spaziergänge auf den weltberühmten Ständen der Copa Cabana und Leblon sowie der der Binnenlagune waren das Ende unseres schönen Aufenthaltes in Rio de Janeiro. Nach acht Tagen neuer und schöner Erfahrungen und vielen neuen Freunden landeten Oswin und ich wieder wohlbehalten am 8.3.2013 nach 17 Stunden Flug wohlbehalten in Wien.

Wolfgang Steinhardt

image_print
Untitled Document