CSLI

Pultbannerübergabe an die Gardemusik

 

A report by Erich Kadlec

Pictures by Hannes Hochmuth – Press photographer

Translated by Mjr CSLI Mike Boxall

Video by Hannes Bartosch – JOBA Flim

 

 

 

 

 As part of a formal ceremony at the Maria Theresa barracks, the LAZARUS UNION with the CSLI Music Corps presented the Guards Band with 24 new hand-embroidered stand banners. Certificates of Friendship between the CSLI Music Corps and the Guards Band were also signed by the Guards’ Director of Music, Colonel dhmtD Bernhard Heher M.A., and the CSLI Director of Music, Brigadier General CSLI Friedrich Lentner. It is the visible sign and certifies the friendship, appreciation and camaraderie between the LAZARUS UNION and the Guard.

 

 

The ceremony was hosted by our Vice President, Colonel Oberst retr.  Reinhard Wassertheurer and of course our corps banner, accompanied by an honour guard of officers, was there.

Also attending were our partner associations The Radetzky Order and The Austria Humanitas Corp. The Vienna Brass Band Association was represented by its National Director of Music Herbert Klinger. Also present were The Orders of Saint Lazarus ofJerusalemand The Order of Saint Michael.

The ceremony began with military punctuality:

At 1450 the Guards Band marched on followed at 1455 by the CSLI Music Corps. By 1500 the Deputy Commander of the Guard, Major Thomas Güttersberger had reported to the Military Commander of Vienna, Brigadier Kurt Wagner M.A., that the ceremony was ready to begin.

The ‘Prinz Eugen Marsch’ (played by the CSLI Music Corps) and ‘92er Regimentsmarsch’ ((played by the Guards Band) framed the address by our President, Senator hc Wolfgang Steinhardt.

This ceremony clearly demonstrated the connection between the Austrian Armed Forces and the LAZARUS UNION. Since its establishment the CSLI has maintained the LAZARUS UNION’s friendly relations with the Army, particularly the Guard. We gladly take part in various ceremonies and events – convinced of our mutual respect, friendship and camaraderie. Likewise, we can always count on the support of our comrades of the Guards as Flight Assistants at our Disabled Flight Days.

President Steinhardt explained the background to the presentation: a remark to Colonel Heher “… your stand banners are showing their age …” Answer: “… I know, but with the current budget situation, we’ll never get new banners …” This was the moment that triggered events. The Lazarus UNION has “… to please others …” written in its mission statement, so why not the Guard?

We certainly seemed to have succeeded in pleasing the Guard. Colonel Heher thanked the Directors of Music and, because of the high temperatures, briefly expressed his pleasure at accepting this gift and offered the Guards’ support and assistance in the training of our musicians.

The Military Commander of Vienna, Brigadier Kurt Wagner, was also appreciative of the gift. He outlined the work of the Guards Band – its successful appearances at home and abroad, and its work as the music school of the Austrian Army. The new stand banners are for him a visual symbol of “combat efficiency”.

The Military Commander also had a big surprise in store.

On behalf of the President he presented Colonel Heher, as Chief of Army Music, with the Gold Cross of Honour of the Republic of Austria.

The CSLI added its hearty congratulations.

The ‘Coral Grandioso’ played by the Guards Band introduced the blessing and handing over of the stand banners. Father Dr. Alexander Lapin D.D., the Orthodox Military Chaplain, and Deacon GR, Deacon Colonel William Hold, blessed the donation with a brief prayer. Father Lapin was very generous with the distribution of holy water – providing a blessed cooling for some in the heat.

The music ‘Schwert Österreich’ accompanied the signing of the Certificates of Friendship. The signatories were, as already mentioned, the Guards’ Director of Music, Colonel dhmtD Bernhard Heher M.A., and the CSLI Director of Music, Brigadier General CSLI Friedrich Lentner.

The Guards Band and the CSLI Music Corps then played together, first ‘Ehre und Pflicht’, the traditional march of the Guards under the baton of their Director of Music, then our Corps march ‘Pappenheimer Marsch’ conducted by Director of  Music Lentner.

It was a great day for the LAZARUS UNION and the CSLI Music Corps. Within a few months it had been possible to build a good standard of performance and become a member of the Vienna Brass Band Association.

The warm welcome from the Guards Band and the Military Command of Vienna are positive incentives for our work. We look forward to a fruitful cooperation and friendship.

Due to the great heat further orders were waived, and this colourful and dignified ceremony finished with the associations parading past the assembled guests.

At the invitation of the CSLI, musicians and guests then attended a small reception in the Officers’ Mess. Many drinks and friendly discussions in a relaxed atmosphere rounded off the day.

Erich Kadlec e.h.

 

Further picture impressions:

Preparation:

Marching of the bands:

Guests:

Speaches:

Banner blessing:

Presentation:

Award for Colonel Heher:

Parade:

Reception:

Music Corps:

 

image_print
Untitled Document

CSLI

Pultbannerübergabe an die Gardemusik

Ein Bericht von Erich Kadlec

Bilder von Hannes Hochmuth – Pressefotograf

Video von Hannes Bartosch – JOBA Film

 

 

Im Rahmen eines feierlichen Festaktes in der Maria Theresien Kaserne überreichte die LAZARUS UNION-CSLI, mit ihr das Musikkorps des CSLI, 24 neue (handgestickte) Pultbanner an die Gardemusik. Unterzeichnet wurden auch Freundschaftsurkunden zwischen der Gardemusik und dem Musikkorps des CSLI druch den Gardekapellmeister Oberst dhmtD Mag. Bernhard Heher und dem Musikbeauftragten der Lazarus Union Kapellmeister BgdrGen CSLI Friedrich Lentner. Es ist dies ein sichtbares Zeichen der Freundschaft, der gegenseitigen Wertschätzung und der Kameradschaft zwischen der LAZARUS UNION-CSLI und der Garde.

 

 

Den Festakt moderierte unser Vizepräsident Oberst i. R. Reinhard Wassertheurer und natürlich war unsere Korpsfahne, begleitet von den Ehrenoffizieren mit dabei.

Teilgenommen haben auch Vertreter unserer befreundeten Verbände: Radetzky Orden, Austria Humanitas Corp. Der Wiener Blasmusikverband war mit Landeskapellmeister Herbert Klinger vertreten. Anwesend auch der Order of Saint Lazarus of Jerusalem und der Michaels Orden.

Der Festakt begann mit militärischer Pünktlichkeit:

1450 Uhr Einmarsch der Gardemusik, 1455 Uhr Einmarsch des CSLI Musikkorps. Um 1500 Uhr meldet der stellvertretende Kommandant der Garde Mjr Thomas Güttersberger dem Militärkommandanten von Wien Brigadier Mag. Kurt Wagner den Beginn des Festaktes.

Der Prinz Eugen Marsch (CSLI Musikkorps) und der 92er Regimentsmarsch (Gardemusik) umrahmen die Rede unseres Präsidenten Senator h. c. Wolfgang Steinhardt.

Dieser Festakt zeigt deutlich die Verbundenheit zwischen dem Österreichischen Bundesheer und der LAZARUS UNION. Seit der Gründung des CSLI pflegt die LAZARUS UNION freundschaftliche Beziehungen zum Bundesheer, besonders zur Garde. Gerne nehmen wir an diversen Festakten und Veranstaltungen teil – aus voller Überzeugung, mit Respekt in Freundschaft und Kameradschaft. Ebenso unterstützen uns immer wieder Kameraden der Garde als Flughelfer bei unserem Behindertenflugtag.

Präsident Steinhardt berichtet über den Hintergrund dieser Geschenksübergabe: eine Bemerkung gegenüber Oberst Heher „…eure Pultbanner sind aber auch schon in die Jahre gekommen…“, Antwort: „…ich weiß es, aber in der derzeitigen Budgetsituation bekommen wir nie neue Pultbanner…“ Das war das auslösende Moment. Schließlich hat die LAZARUS UNION auch in ihrem Leitbild festgeschrieben „…anderen Freude zu bereiten …“. Weshalb nicht der Garde?

Das scheint auch gelungen zu sein. Angesichts der hohen Temperaturen bedankt sich der Musikchef und Kapellmeister der Garde Oberst Heher mit Freude und in knappen Worten für das Geschenk und bietet seine Unterstützung und Mithilfe bei der Weiterbildung unserer Musiker an.

Ebenfalls erfreut zeigt sich der Militärkommandant von Wien Brigadier Mag. Kurt Wagner über das Geschenk. Er skizziert das Wirken der Gardemusik – ein erfolgreiches Auftreten im In- und Ausland. Die Gardemusik als die Musikschule des Österreichischen Bundesheeres. Die neuen Pultbanner sind für ihn „eine optische Kampfwertsteigerung.“

Der Militärkommandant hat auch noch eine große Überraschung bereit.

Er überreicht Heeresmusikchef Oberst Mag. Bernhard Heher das ihm vom Bundespräsidenten verliehene Goldene Ehrenzeichen der Republik Österreich.

Das CSLI gratuliert dazu nochmals recht herzlich.

Der Coral Grandioso, gespielt von der Gardemusik leitet über zur Segnung und Übergabe der Pultbanner. Vater DDDr. Alexander Lapin von der orthodoxen Militärseelsorge und Diakon GR Oberst Wilhelm Hold halten eine kurze Andacht und spenden den Segen, wobei Vater Lapin sehr großzügig mit der Verteilung des heiligen Wassers war – bei dieser Hitze eine gesegnete Abkühlung für manche Kameraden.

Das Musikstück „ Schwert Österreich“ leitete über zur Unterzeichnung der Freundschaftsurkunden über. Unterzeichner waren, wie  schon Eingangs erwähnt, Kpm Oberst Mag. Heher von der Gardemusik und Kpm Fritz Lentner vom CSLI Musikkorps.

Es folgte ein gemeinsames Musizieren: „Ehre und Pflicht“, der Traditionsmarsch der Garde unter der Stabsführung der Gardemusik und unser Korpsmarsch, der „Pappenheimer Marsch“ unter Leitung von Kapellmeister Lentner.

Es war ein großer Tag für die LAZARUS UNION und das CSLI Musikkorps. Innerhalb von wenigen Monaten war es möglich eine gute Aufbauleistung zu erbringen und Mitglied im Wiener Blasmusikverband zu werden.

Die freundliche und kameradschaftliche Aufnahme von Seiten der Gardemusik und von Seiten des Militärkommandos Wien ist uns sicher Ansporn für unsere weitere Tätigkeit. Wir freuen uns auf eine kameradschaftfliche und fruchtbringende Zusammenarbeit.

Auf das Erbitten weiterer Befehle wurde auf Grund der großen Hitze verzichtet. Abmarsch und Defilee der Verbände vor den anwesenden Gästen beendete diesen schönen und würdigen Festakt.

Musiker und Gäste konnten sich auf Einladung des CSLI anschließend im Offizierskasino bei einem kleinen Empfang und vielen Getränken kameradschaftlicher Gespräche widmen und so den Tag in gelöster Stimmung ausklingen lassen.

Erich Kadlec e.h.

 

Weitere Bildimpressionen:

Vorbereitung:

Aufmarsch:

Gäste:

Ansprachen:

Bannersegnung:

Übergabe:

Auszeichnung von Oberst Heher:

Defilee:

Agape:

Musikkorps:

 

image_print
Untitled Document